We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food in a Quirky Little Restaurant!”
Review of Poogan's Porch

Poogan's Porch
Ranked #42 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting & King
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food in a Quirky Little Restaurant!”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Poogan's Porch is named after the dog who lived in the house and is buried in the front yard. It is located in a quirkly little house on Queen St. On nice evenings you can eat out on one of the porches. The food is awesome, especially the fried green tomatoes. The service is outstanding. I recommend that you make a reservation because it's very popular.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArchaeoBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,491
    1,433
    511
    138
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Waitress was weird”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I absolutely loved their Mac and Cheese (made with smoked gouda) and my hand cut pork chop was great. My husband liked his food as well. But the waitress was abrupt, very distracted (they were busy but not that busy) and when I asked a question she just gave me a 1 word reply or a very short reply as she was racing off. If not for her I would give this a top rating.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2trvl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for dining at Poogan's Porch and for taking the time to write your review. We apologize for the poor service. We are known for our Southern Hospitality and friendly service so we will use your comments as a training tool. We hope to serve you again soon.

Luis Rodriguez
General Manager
Poogan's Porch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHAMPTON, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best dinner on our 2-week vacation”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We enjoyed eating on the second floor porch on a beautiful Spring evening. Our four dinners were excellent. Lots of yum-yums all through our meal. Outstanding bread pudding for dessert. Nice, down to earth, and friendly server. All in all, as good an eating experience that I remember in a long time. Good job Poogan!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DICKKEIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner spot!”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Had dinner our first evening in town. No wait on a Monday evening and were able to sit outside. Great service and the food was delicious!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mob3172012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quality, value, tradition”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Just stepping in to Poogan's, my heart sunk...autographed letters of b-list celebrities lined the walls, a building that has seen better days and having just enjoyed a cocktail at Husk...I thought "this was a mistake." But, I have to say, everything was just fine. More than fine really. The staff was very professional and personable and the food was very good, with generous portions and modest prices. The dining room is worn, but that actually was part of the charm. The bar for excellent food is set high in Charleston so I imagine you cannot survive unless you play along. Poogan's Porch contributes a traditional dining experience that I think many diners visiting Charleston will enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank captivawine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poogan's Porch also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Poogan's Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing