We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fried Green Tomatoes and Chicken in the South”
Review of Poogan's Porch

Poogan's Porch
Ranked #43 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting & King
misssiu@aol.com
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Fried Green Tomatoes and Chicken in the South”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

A local recommended this restaurant and we are certainly glad she did. The atmosphere and service were exceptional. Compliments to the chef as both of our meals exceeded expectatoins. If you go try the fried green tomatoes and fried chicken...you won't be sorry you did. Delicious

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MissSiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,431
    1,417
    503
    136
    96
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fried chicken and biscuits to die for!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

There are many potential headlines for this restaurant--Friendly Southern Vibe, Lovely View of Toasty Fire on a Chilly Day, Quaint Porch with Spooky Story--but we'll stick with the true standout. The amazingly delicious chicken sliders. But these aren't normal sliders. First of all, there are two, and each is almost the size of a regular chicken sandwich. Served on delicate, moist puffs of buttermilk biscuit, these perfectly seasoned, lightly bread and juicy pieces of chicken basically just melt in your mouth. We tried ours with a remoulade and a jalapeño honey sauce. Best fried chicken and biscuits ever. We started our lunch with the very rich and tasty mac with smoked Gouda cheese and country ham. We also shared the fried green tomatoes. Both were quite good, although I preferred the mac and cheese. We each had an interesting cocktail, both vodka-based, one with a cucumber undertone and one that tasted like a spa smells (sounds weird but it was good). We were there for lunch without a reservation while waiting for our hotel room, and got seated right away in front of a lovely fireplace. The service was professional and friendly. Loved Poogan's Porch!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Treegirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Poogan's Porch and we hope to see y'all again soon. Luis Rodriguez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Went for lunch and had an incredible meal. The shimp and grits were great, she crab soup and fried green tomato BLT was fabulous. Great service! Great Southern charm; just look out for the ghost's as this place was top five on the travel channel for most haunted restaraunts.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 536miken536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for dining with us and for your wonderful review. Come back soon!! Luis Rodriguez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must have experience”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I went to have dinner and was seated as I went in. Server was very professional and the food was a lot for your money. I must say you need to try here if your in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paco123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to write your wonderful review. We hope to serve you again soon. Luis Rodriguez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great trip destination”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Seated immediately, great service. Food was really good, a good number of options. Desserts were great too. Decor was very cool, in an old house but felt really spacious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Phoebe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for dining at Poogan's Porch! We hope to see you again during your next visit. Luis Rodriguez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poogan's Porch also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Poogan's Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing