We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner and Breakfast were great!”
Review of Poogan's Porch

Poogan's Porch
Ranked #41 of 938 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting & King
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I was in Charleston for a long weekend with my girlfriends and we found this place for dinner our first night. We enjoyed it so much that we came back for breakfast a few days later! The waiters were very friendly and helpful, and the food was delicious! We all got to try aligator for the first time too!

Thank Gwen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for your multiple visits to Poogan's Porch and for your great review. Please come back and see us the next time that you are in the Holy City. Luis Rodriguez, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,010 - 4,014 of 5,929 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Had the alligator bites and pulled pork ravioli...both delicious. I'd also like to state that they have the best biscuits in South Carolina...so fluffy and flavorful!!!

R.I.P. Poogan (circa 1979)

Thank hvbohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for dining with us and for the great review. Let me know if you'll like the recipe for the biscuits. Luis Rodriguez, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Mac & Cheese is amazing. Fried chicken was good for sure. My GF is a vegetarian and they made some special items for her since they did not have a vegetarian dish. Staff was extremely pleasant. Atmosphere was quaint - sit outside if you can. I heard brunch is a must, but we never made it there on the weekend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Celeste T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for your great review and I have to agree with you. Our Mac & Cheese is the best!!! Please come back to see us soon. Luis Rodriguez, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were visiting Charleston with friends and, on a recommendation turned up at Poogan's Porch for lunch. They had said on phone that they only took reservations for large parties, but that four should not be a problem at 12:30--true to their word, there were several options for seating including a quiet and pleasant open patio in the rear of the restaurant. The menu offered some specials including a low country paella which was ordered and reported excellent; other choices we made included a round of the fried green tomatoes--very good; the buttermilk fried chicken sliders; a crabcake and cheese grits plate and a shrimp and grits concoction with bluecrab gravy. All were generous portions and very tasty. Wines and beers were available but we stuck by their excellent sweet tea. Service was attentive and the entire staff seemed genuinely pleased we had stopped by. We had no room for desserts, so I cannot comment on that aspect. On balance, I'd say this was a very good establishment and I hope to visit it again on my next trip to Charleston. The location is in an old Charleston house on Queen St. Save for a few tables at street level in front, the restaurant would not be accessible. The interior rooms seemed well appointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shri420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for dining with us and we truly hope that you return to Poogan's porch during your next visit. Luis Rodriguez, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at pooh and porch without reservations on sun October 27 and were quickly accepted and told the wait would be about 15 min. Very engaging hostess staff, waiters and waitresses. Food was excellent and most generous portions. My daughter had the French toast(5 pieces) and I had eggs bacon biscuits and grits. All wax prepared perfectly. It has the true flavor of old charleston and wax a most enjoyable brunch

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clemson1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

It was a pleasure to serve you and we hope to see you again soon. Luis Rodriguez, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poogan's Porch also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Poogan's Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing