We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poogan's Porch

Poogan's Porch
Reserve with OpenTable
Poogan's Porch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting & King
North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This restaurant deserves the great reviews! We called on a Saturday afternoon at 1pm and were told there would be a 5 min wait. We were around the block shopping so we walked over. True to their word, we waited 5 min. Our server was great and I asked if I could have a spicy bloody mary and WOW!!! it was so peppery and vinegar based that I couldnt drink it, but the bartender delivered what I requested. The deep fried pimento balls are one of the best things I have ever eaten. They are served with a sweet sauce that compliments it perfectly. My husband got the BBQ eggs benedict and he raved about how good it was. I tried it and I normally dont like eggs benedict but these were GOOD! I ordered the fried chicken salad served with jalapeno dressing. The dressing was definately homemade as it looked like a side of mayo with jalapenos tossed in. I spread it on with my fork and it was one of the best dressings I have ever had. I would go back to Poogans Porch in a heartbeat!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank craquell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
WOW!!! Thank you for dining with us and for your great review. We pride ourselves on our food and service and you comments mean a lot to us. Please come back soon. Luis Rodriguez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,189
    1,338
    468
    134
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
431 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal.. for the second time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our second trip to Poogan's Porch. Again, it was pretty busy, but we had reservations and no wait. We had fried green tomatoes, cast iron skilled pork chop, and jumbo scallops. We always have liked the restaurant that is in an old house. The food was very very good. All of the service was just like you want it to be and we had a very nice dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IverJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for dining at Poogan's Porch for the second time. We hope to add many more visits to the list. Come back soon! Luis Rodriguez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

You need reservations because it is a very well known restaurant. The food is very good and has some unusual pairings of foods. It seemed pricey for port chops, Mac and cheese and green beans. The chicken was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Txgal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for dining at Poogan's Porch! Our pork is all natural and unfortunately requires a bit of a premium. We look forward to your next visit. Luis Rodriguez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Just as Wonderful as we Expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Based on other reviews and some friends who had visited previously, my husband and I had high expectations for Poogan's Porch. It did not disappoint! The restaurant itself is beautiful. We made a reservation for a Sunday evening (it happened to be Mother's Day) and were seated promptly when we arrived. The menu wasn't extensive but each appetizer and entree sounded incredible! We settled on the pimento cheese fritters as an app and they were perfect with a sweet green tomato jam. I enjoyed perfectly seared scallops for my meal. We chose to skip on dessert, but were pleased with everything we were served and the service we received. The meal was quite expensive, but we were prepared for that. If you're looking for something a little cheaper, consider visiting at lunchtime. Wonderful place for a date night or special occasion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hannahconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for dining with us an we look forward to serving you soon. Luis Rodriguez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvidere
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Evening on Poogan's Porch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We dined on the second floor balcony of Poogan's Porch. It was a lovely spot to enjoy Queen street in Charleston.
I had the fried chicken. It was OK, nothing special. My food was also cold.
My friends chose better meals-the shrimp with cheese grits and the chicken codon bleu.
The wait staff was fine and the wine and dessert selections were good.

There are so many wonderful restaurants in Charleston that I think we would pass on this one next time there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elaine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for dining with us and for your candid comments. Please contact me directly the next time your plans call for Poogan's Porch, and I'll personally take care of you. We want to win back your favor. Luis Rodriguez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poogan's Porch also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Poogan's Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing