We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our best Charleston experience”
Review of Poogan's Porch

Poogan's Porch
Ranked #42 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting & King
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not our best Charleston experience”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

During a short vacation in Charleston, we passed by during the day, and decided to try it for dinner. It seems so popular that I called ahead to see if they would have room, and the young woman I spoke to was useless. She said their walk-in tables were currently full, but didn't offer to take our names or give us an estimated wait time. I went on Open Table and made a reservation with no problem for 30 minutes later, and we headed down. We were seated promptly though not asked if we wanted indoors or out, and the whole place was maybe half full. Although I see why the food is popular, there were almost no non-meat options (just a couple of the appetizers), and our waitstaff did answer questions about the food but not particularly helpfully (I got the feeling they hadn't tried most of it themselves). It was a beautiful warm evening so less heavy options would have been nice, but our chicken dishes were good. Drinks, appetizers, and desserts were the highlight. Nice space, some good elements, but for the price and attitude we had better in Charleston.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hollykmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,431
    1,415
    503
    136
    96
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Crab Cakes I Have EVER eaten!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Lovely setting, the finest wait staff and to my delight, a shared appetizer of crab cakes and heirloom salad (also the best I have ever eaten) was pure deliciousness! While my entrée was wonderful, I cannot wait to go back. I will have these two appetizers as my main course - together they were a perfect match! My mouth is watering reliving this wonderful dining experience.
An added plus, the noise level was low making it a perfectly delightful evening for conversation over dinner with good friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJerome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“FRIED CHICKEN!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have had a lot of good fried chicken since moving to the South. The fried chicken at Poogan's Porch blew me away! I would go back and order that same dish again for sure!

The service was also good. The host stand did seem pretty indifferent, but the serving staff was attentive and focused.

Very good restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aaronkretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Next door to Husk, and just as good”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I couldn't get in to Husk for lunch, so I went next door to Poogan's. I was seated right away at a lovely outdoor table. The food was interesting and very good, and the service was perfect.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ltwau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Dining Experience”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We visited the Charleston area for 4 days and had some great dining experiences, as with any list of restaurants there has to be a best and there has to be a worse. Poogan’s Porch was by far the best! Everything was superb, the menu was original and the flavors were perfectly paired. Everything was seasoned properly, served at the proper temperature and feature local, fresh ingredients.
We were a group of four, we started with appetizers: She Crab Soup, Fried Green Tomatoes with Local Goat Cheese, Heirloom Tomato Salad and Pimiento Cheese Fritters. All were outstanding. For entrees, two had the Shrimp & Grits which was very good – nice plump Carolina shrimp in a spicy gravy. We also had the Grilled MahiMahi which was served over a nice succotash. But…the highlight was the Cast Iron Pork Chop! This was one of the best, if not the best pork chop I ever had. It was breaded and skillet fried, so tender and juicy! The accompaniments of fresh green beans and gouda mac & cheese made for a well rounded entrée, I’d order this again and again. Superb!
Unfortunately after we all had our own appetizer and entrée, we were a bit too full for dessert. But that just gives us a reason to go back, is if the temptation of another pork chop wasn’t enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SauceBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poogan's Porch also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Poogan's Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing