We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food With Southern Charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poogan's Porch

Poogan's Porch
Reserve with OpenTable
Poogan's Porch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting & King
Cary , North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Food With Southern Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is Charleston after all so southern charm abounds. My husband and I ate at Poogans based on a recommendation from our hotel clerk and we were pleasantly surprised. The food was outstanding and the atmosphere had a great deal of charm, the service was acceptable but could have been slightly better for the price. They are also dog friendly to anyone with a well behaved pooch on the front porch. I would highly recommend Poogan's for anyone visiting downtown Charleston.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sweettours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,194
    1,344
    468
    134
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We ate at Poogan's a few years ago and were really impressed, so when we decided to return to Charleston over the Christmas holidays Poogan's was at the top of our list. What a mistake!! Overly priced for the food offered. Service was okay, but really!!! Waiters in jeans on Christmas day...and charging those prices. My husband and I had the normal Christmas fare plus 1 drink. With the tip it was $145.00. I'm guessing they will be removed from my places to eat in Charleston.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank denisek32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Poor service, rip-off Christmas prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Terribly disappointed at the poor service and lack of hospitality on Christmas Day.
Fixed price of $48.50 each was gouging for what they served. Our waiter left us sitting for 20 minutes without greeting us. Food quality just OK, untrained wait staff and super high price made us feel it should be called "Scrooge's" instead of Poogan's! Will not go back

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank justicetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
325 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I stopped in for lunch, not knowing they were doing a Christmas menu. They were packed, and our hotel was able to get us in for a 12:30 seating. 3 course fixed price $50 each. For starters we had the tomato bisque with creme fraiche and a cranberry walnut salad. We had classic holiday cuisine, but with a twist. The ham had some sort of mango fruit sauce, which was yummy. The turkey was smoked with corn bread stuffing and spiced cranberry puree. We also had a fantastic grilled pork chop with diced sweet potato and fried brussel sprouts with bacon. For dessert a bourbon pecan pie and the ginger cake. Exquisite. Neither of us could finish all the wonderful offerings, we left stuffed. Service was great. The only slight negative, we were on the second floor just off the door to the balcony. Despite the mid-50s temperatures, there were folks eating outdoors. The servers kept leaving the door ajar, resulting in a cold breeze across our laps. We asked several times to have it closed, they were good about it, just busy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CulinarySnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
176 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“southern cuisine in a charming old building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We visited Poogans Porch for lunch on the weekend and arrived at a time when they were serving a brunch menu.
We had a brief 15 min wait in the bar area, before we were seated, which is fine – it’s a busy place and the staff are constantly on the move, however there were some empty tables in the downstairs room and it seems a common occurrence in Charleston to make clients wait before seating. (The reason why we didn’t eat in Husk next door, since they told us it was going to be a 45 min wait and half their tables were empty...).

The ambiance and decor in Poogan’s is very oldy-worldy, with dark, wood panelling in the bar area, but a bright & minimalistic approach in the front room of this charming, Victorian Building.

The food is very southern – not only are the portions generous, but they're heavy! We ordered the Captain Lee Omelette and scrambled eggs with pork sausage and hash (potato pieces with onion and capsicum). Our meals were delicious (did I say hearty?) and were (surprisingly!!) served with freshly cut fruit?!? We also received (to our delight!) biscuits the size of (proper Devonshire tea) scones that were served with sweetened butter, for me these were more like traditional scones and they were mouth-wateringly delicious...

Our waiter was a little distracted and seemed to be struggling to balance his tables; which didn’t bother us as the room was small enough for us to get his attention & order a second drink, rather than waiting for him to ask us.

If you’re looking for some good southern cooking, in a lively restaurant loaded with plenty of charm – then this is the place for you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Bilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poogan's Porch also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Poogan's Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing