We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice lunch spot”

Olde Towne Grill & Seafood
Ranked #268 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
SC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“nice lunch spot”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great service and very consistent and quality food. The menu is very typically Greek as owned by a Greek family. Nice renovations since my last visit (when I lived in Chas--before the fire). We had the Greek chicken, gyro and spanokopita. All quite well-prepared and authentic! Overly abundant portions (leftovers!) and reasonably priced. No warm pita served with salads or pre-meal as seemed to get in the past. Greek potatoes not so great compared to others we've had--a little softer in texture and taste--but decent enough. Would definitely recommend for lunch, in particular, but maybe split a meal if not too hungry! :) Nice atmosphere too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emmaline410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    92
    36
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Almonte, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good Service and value. Average Food.”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a local institution that has been here for 40 years. It is a family style restaurant. The service is very good, quick and attentive. They were able to give me a slightly modified meal from the menu with no problem. Most meals start out with a Greek Salad and some warm pita bread and butter (tzadziki would have been better). The salad is fresh and the dressing very good. I had souvlaki. The meat was little bland and came with a small cup of tzadziki and tomatoes/onions. My wife had Moussaka with potatoes and rice. The Moussaka was average, rice bland but potatoes were very tasty. I read online that they sell their dressing but the waiter told us not from the King Street location. He did get us a large cup of dressing which was really nice of him. Overall excellent service with average greek food. With so many good places here to eat, I will try somewhere else for my next meal out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big fat greek lunch”
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Nice atmosphere in this little place, the front is bar-like but opens up into a larger high ceiling dining area in the back. The lamb was on a vertical rotating machine, so i guess its fresh everyday. The portion of my gyro was giant, a biiig plus in my opinion. Quality was not sacrificed for quantity, the gyro was excellent and the greek potatoes were pretty good too. Summer (girlfriend) had roasted chicken, which i was impressed with. Not a bad choice so stop by for a great lunch on King St!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RaDoubleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed lunch here. The server was attentive and was able to answer our questions about the menu. I thought the lemon chicken soup was fabulous. The pita bread was so good even my picky/steak-and-potatoes-loving husband enjoyed it. I ordered the salmon and it was so-so. The taste was okay but the texture was a bit rubbery. The Greek potatoes were very tasty, though. My husband thought the key lime pie was among the best he's tasted! We also thoroughly enjoyed the soundtrack - it was all 90's tunes while we were there and we felt like we were back in college!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marti E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, value, service, and LOCALLY OWNED!!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I remember my first gyro at this same restaurant, same family owners, same location when I was around 12 years old (has it really been 40 years?). I was not disappointed when we visited recently. Generous portions, kind prices, great Greek wine with quick, friendly service make Old Towne a wonderful place to frequent! To me this is "comfort food", even if you choose the chicken option it's still as wonderful and lower in fat/cals/cholesterol!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betsy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Towne Grill & Seafood also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Olde Towne Grill & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing