We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Great food"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of California Dreaming Restaurant & Bar

California Dreaming Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #97 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted “Best Waterfront Dining” and "Best Salad" 10 years running, by Charleston City Paper and “Best French Fries” by West Ashley Patch; here you’ll enjoy “fall-off-the-bone” baby back ribs, giant chicken dishes, award winning salads and slow-cooked prime rib. The energy-packed atmosphere is complete with an expansive, wrap-around patio and bar overlooking the Ashley River. The restaurant also features late night bar bites; large party carry-out and catering, and accessibility for groups. Adjacent to Ripley Light Marina on the Ashley River.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“"Great food"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

It overall was great I had a po'boy with flounder. It was good but I had to ask for for extra sauce and ketchup because it is not on the table and all meals come with fries. Now with service I enjoyed it. They were nice but were running around everywhere.

Helpful?
Thank johnjaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    293
    169
    78
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Place to dine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

It was our only night in South Carolina. Our relative made reservations for 6 PM for a total of 6 people. We arrived about 15 minutes late, but were seated immediately. We were close to the windows and had a beautiful view of the boats and water. Our server was efficient and considering the many tables she had to serve, our food came out quickly. I had the Knob Hill Chicken. The chicken was tender and moist and whatever kind of ham that was on top of the chicken breast, was delicious. We never had to ask for refills on our drinks because our server had them for us.

There is a large parking lot so parking is not an issue.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sissy7657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
477 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Forget about the negative reviews...this is a great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were recommended this restaurant by a reality TV star (not kidding) and it did not disappoint! Do NOT listen to the negative reviews. We loved every bit of our experience here. We made reservations and walked right in to a table (no wait at all). The hostesses were warm and friendly. We were waited on promptly by Olivia, who was a dynamite server!!! Ask for her! The atmosphere is awesome and the views are breathtaking! The food was also a star!

We had the Peel and Eat Shrimp for a starter. I had the house salad (with house-made 1000 Island) and the She-Crab Soup. My wife had the Seafood Nachos and we shared the Apple Pie for dessert. Everything was delicious, well-prepared, and just awesome!

If you are in the area, California Dreaming is not to be missed! Great service, great atmosphere, and great food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millers Creek, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never To Return”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were on our last evening in Charleston and wanted a nice meal but did not want to travel too far from our hotel. We had a twenty minute wait which wasn't too bad. We requested a table by a window but none were available. We ordered and when our food was brought to us we had not been given silverware or napkins. The salmon I ordered was extremely dry, definitely the worst I have ever been served. I mentioned this to our waiter when he asked if I wanted to take the leftovers with me. He offered no apology nor did he offer to get the manager. It was very expensive and a total waste.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MomDadandSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

we ate here a few years ago on our trip to Chas. although it was late I was very disappointed in the service. it was slow and we had to ask several times for salad, milkshake for our nephew, etc. Service was better the last time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ksweetater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA_Centraarchy, Public Relations Manager at California Dreaming Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
I am very sorry that you did not experience the level of service and attention that our guests have come to expect. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Dreaming Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to California Dreaming Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing