We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food; good views”

California Dreaming Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #107 of 911 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Voted “Best Waterfront Dining” and "Best Salad" 10 years running, by Charleston City Paper and “Best French Fries” by West Ashley Patch; here you’ll enjoy “fall-off-the-bone” baby back ribs, giant chicken dishes, award winning salads and slow-cooked prime rib. The energy-packed atmosphere is complete with an expansive, wrap-around patio and bar overlooking the Ashley River. The restaurant also features late night bar bites; large party carry-out and catering, and accessibility for groups. Adjacent to Ripley Light Marina on the Ashley River.
Gladwin, Michigan
Level Contributor
108 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food; good views”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I was staying nearby and just got a take out for dinner. I had the California shrimp which was a shrimp linguine. I enjoyed it a lot but don't order it if you don't like garlic. They do bring the orders out to your car which was nice. Everyone was friendly and helpful. It is located on the harbor near the bridges. Worth going to

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    310
    182
    80
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island & Rempstone
Level Contributor
117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Super view and reasonable prices”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our first visit on the way to the Battery. Food good but fired. We would like broiled or grilled due to fat and coating calories. View was great watching dolphins and birds. Parking good even with many customers though you may have a walk. No shade in lot. Watching the boats was good. Service great as was the food and portion size.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EnjoyUSAUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kragero, Norway
Level Contributor
163 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, charming building, good food, and attentive service”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

What more could you ask for?

The food is very good and the service was the perfect balance of attentive and friendly (thank you Megan!). Management was also accessible and it was obvious that the group really CARES about the comfort of its diners.

I loved the location.

One thing I do wish I had learned more about is the building, which looks as though it is historic and renovated. If new, it is interesting and well done. If historic, it is a WOW. So my diner's tip is to go, enjoy the food, and make a point to ask about the restaurant's history.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well Drinks are $1.99”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The food is OK, what you expect from California Dreaming. Its good, average food. But the well drinks are 1.99. Its worth going just for that!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NigiriEel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprise from the hotel”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We were surprised to eat here; the prices seemed a little high, but you get a lot of food for your money. The desk clerk gave us a coupon which was honored as my husband ordered a full meal of the pasta pomodora and I order soup and salad. There was so much on his plate that we took the leftovers for an entire meal for our daughter.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Dreaming Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to California Dreaming Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing