We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Service & Food at High Cotton” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Cotton Charleston

High Cotton Charleston
Reserve with OpenTable
High Cotton Charleston is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Cumberland
Description: High Steppin' Lowcountry Living. It's a feeling of warmth and celebration that begins the moment you step inside. You'll find it in our gracious, knowledgable servers, expertly prepared dishes and a remarkable cocktail and wine program. From conversation and laughter in our bar to our stylish dining rooms of heart pine floors and antique brick, you'll come to understand true Charleston hospitality. That is, there's always cause for celebration - of our neighbors, our food and drink and each other. It's our great pleasure to share it with you.
Berea, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service & Food at High Cotton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We dined at High Cotton while vacationing in South Carolina last month and we were pleased with our meal to say the very least. We were a group of 8 from all over the country with diverse palates. We started with the fried oysters and picnic plate while some enjoyed the corn soup and salads. The favorite item that anyone ordered for their entree was the rabbit. Both people who had the rabbit could not say better things about it. The least favorite item was the Low Country boil. I enjoyed the smoked pork chop which was cooked to perfection. Our server was outstanding. The best one we had while in Charleston. I wish I could remember her name but she is from Indiana and lived in Belfast for some time. She was excited to talk about the food and gave great recommendations. High Cotton should give her a raise!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Klabens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,099
    456
    177
    63
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A safe bet for a good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This popular Charleston establishment was a winner from the moment we arrived. Great service, excellent food and an atmosphere that was energetic and not stuffy, yet maintained a romantic feel. High Cotton for dinnner and sister establishment SNOB (right across the street) at lunch made for a great day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“sunday brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had shrimp and grits,and it was the best we had all week.Husband had crab cakes,yummy.Good iced tea too. Fried donuts were very popular too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank chesterbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No merlot?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We are local, and Maverick Club members (i.e.frequent flyers!) in the Maverick group of restaurants. All are outstanding. Last night, however, we were entertaining out of town guests at High Cotton, and I was floored that there was no merlot on the wine list. Lots of outrageously expensive bottles of wine, and I believe $8 a glass was cheapest on the by-the-glass list. We know our wine, and while disheartened, I chose a pinot - great as a second choice. Food good, Restaurant Week, place packed. Small portions, but good, and steak cooked as requested for 3 of 4 at our table. The well-done steak was placed in front of the medium-rare requesting guest. Waiter said he'd exchange it, very polite, by the way, but the well-done steak was consumed anyway, based on the starvation index!! Alas, could not do the 5th star, however, because there was NO MERLOT!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The wait staff was remarkable. We attended a small wedding in the private dining area next to the courtyard. The gentlemen that took care of the party were top notch..... We were just a small group of only 20 or so but these guys did an outstanding job. Never had to ask for a thing. Were very helpful with everyone from grandma to the small children. Food was O.K..... Had the Shrimp and Grits. Was it necessary to place the prawn heads in the grits? 4 shrimp.... corn in the grits?
Another person at the table got the chicken sandwich, she said it was great. Maybe should have gotten that. Was hoping for a low country meal...... Overall the atmosphere was great, folks in every area were very nice and very gracious. Loved the feel of the large moldings and hardwood floors throughout. Very nice place for a romantic evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Cotton Charleston also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to High Cotton Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing