We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of my favorite Charleston restaurants”

High Cotton Charleston
Reserve with OpenTable
High Cotton Charleston is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Cumberland
Description: High Steppin' Lowcountry Living. It's a feeling of warmth and celebration that begins the moment you step inside. You'll find it in our gracious, knowledgable servers, expertly prepared dishes and a remarkable cocktail and wine program. From conversation and laughter in our bar to our stylish dining rooms of heart pine floors and antique brick, you'll come to understand true Charleston hospitality. That is, there's always cause for celebration - of our neighbors, our food and drink and each other. It's our great pleasure to share it with you.
Summerville, SC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still one of my favorite Charleston restaurants”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've eaten at most of the nice restaurants in Charleston & High Cotton remains one of my favorites. Their shrimp and grits are amazing--- sausage, okra, corn, stewed tomatoes... YUMMM! On my last visit, I also had a creme brulee made with grand marnier! Thoroughly enjoy the restaurant every time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scjulie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,167
    473
    187
    67
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food in a lively atmosphere”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Although the room is large, the noise level isn't overwhelming. Great selection of appetizers and entrees, very good wine list. A little pricey, but enjoyable

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cityside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A Charleston Favorite”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We always lunch at High Cotton during our visits to Charleston. The food is creative and delicious. Husband - who makes the most wonderful crabcake I've ever tasted - ordered a crabcake sandwich for lunch and voiced his approval. I started with a cup of mushroom soup that was creamy and earthy and then ordered the charcuterie plate as an entree. The chicken mousse was amazing and I also enjoyed the pickled okra. Our waiter, Ryan, was attentive, fun and contributed ot our positive dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Private Party / Great Food”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a rehearsal dinner there in the back room. Large private party - with great food!!

Also loved the atmosphere/architecture in the front part of the restaurant and the bar area. Looked like a great place to hang out and eat. Plus they had live music.

Food was excellent. Living up to the Charleston Food Experience. Beverages from the bar were served correctly (not something you always get). I asked for extra lime and they brought me a whole plate of lime slices!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank burgesslake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Food, Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

One of our most memorable restaurant experiences in years. Table 52 is a booth dinette that overlooks the restaurant and it's the best seat in the house. Our hostess very graciously didn't seat anyone near us and we had the upper deck to ourselves for most of the night. The steak choices were good and the food was amazing. The dessert, the chef special that night, was so very delicious.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Zen_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Cotton Charleston also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to High Cotton Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing