We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the top ten meals of all time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Grill

Charleston Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Charleston Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Market Street
Description: The Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Paneled walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local folk art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the top ten meals of all time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

I know it's not readily believable when people write that sort of thing but I am an ex-chef from NYC and the Charleston Grill was one of my top ten meals ever; and I've eaten at some of the best places all over the world. The staff and chef were just outstanding from the perfectly cooked quail to the seared foie gras to the local crab cake to the lobster pappardelle, the flavors and execution were superb! The room is a little stiff but the jazz trio made up for it. I would go back again anytime!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jbsiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,126
    148
    57
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Romantic Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

My wife and I sampled many of Charleston's best restaurants over the course of two weeks -- sometimes with the kids, sometimes without. Charleston Grill was the setting for our special night out, and met every single one of our expectations. Our server, Lisa, was outstanding, and helped us navigate an inventive menu that offers more choices than a week of visits would allow. Apps and entrees were outstanding, and we had a stunning chocolate dessert that capped the evening perfectly. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aipotu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Food, atmosphere - all perfect! The jazz quartet was wonderful. We had the beef tenderloin and pork chop. Both were outstanding. We also had jelly donuts for dessert. It was served with coffee pots de creme. Unique and awesome. It was pricey but it was our anniversary

Helpful?
Thank Kendraburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
265 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We celebrated our anniversary with friends while we were in town. The overall experience was top notch. The service was outstanding and the drink and food quality very good. Thanks to Justin,Femi and Mickey for a memorable evening. We plan on returning when we visit again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimickinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

This was the first time that we dined at the Charleston Grill. It was highly rated and we expected excellence. We were not disappointed. Everything was excellent from our greeting when we arrived to the sincere thank you from the host when we left. The service was top notch. The staff was friendly, skilled and sincere. The restaurant has a wonderful ambiance. It is well appointed and there is live music. Our meals were fantastic. I had a rack of lamb. It was the best that I ever had. My wife had an excellent filet mignon done to her specifications. The host(manager) went from table to table checking on everyone's experience. He was very genuine which is quite refreshing.

This restaurant had a great mix of what appeared to be regular clients, as the staff knew them by name, and tourists.

If we lived near the Charleston Grill we would be regulars.

We will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank royafoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing