We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just sublime”
Review of Charleston Grill

Charleston Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Charleston Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 911 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Market Street
Description: The Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Paneled walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local folk art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just sublime”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Just finished an amazing meal at The Charleston Grill. Let's see the service spot on, broad imaginative menu, and the presentation amazing. We were there with another couple it was their first visit . They to we're blown away. The lamb was done just right and a generous cut. My guests fish was done with a light Asian sauce that was perfect. Mickey the manager is a legend in Charleston as is Chief Weaver. I took my brother in law there a couple of years ago. He travels abroad extensively and is a very understated guy. Upon finishing his meal he stated, " that may have been the best meal of my life". Charleston is a food town and the Grill is consistently at the top of the pile. Being situated of the lobby of The Charleston Place Hotel just adds to the magic. For a unforgettable experience this is the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 321RJgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,204
    157
    60
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“THE ENTIRE PACKAGE”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

There are very few hotel restaurants in the US that are noteworthy to deserve a 5 start review. This establishment was amazing. The room and the bar with live music was sophisticated and warm. The food -- WOW -- you must try the Fried Green Tomatoes over creamy sweet corn grits for an app -- could make a meal out of it. You need the room, food and service to bel at the top of the game to rate a 5 star and therefore ask to be seated in Bryan Austin's section. This person could run his own school to teach the top waiters in the business. Be prepared to have an amazing experience in a venue run by Mickey Bakst, GM

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zmaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Service, and Ambiance”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We dined at the Charleston Grill in early May 2014 at the recommendation of our son and his wife who visited Charleston over the Christmas Holiday. Our party of four was warmly greeted and promptly seated upon arrival. The restaurant is an inviting space that is beautifully decorated. Service staff were highly professional and very helpful with suggestions for dinning and wine selection. The food was incredible! The appetizer offerings were very interesting. We had a variety at our table and each was well presented and tasty. Three members of our party had the prime beef tenderloin. It was cooked perfect and included a Bourguignon sauce that was wonderful. My wife asked our server if the chef could give her the recipe for the sauce and, much to her surprise, she soon received an email containing the recipe. Finishing off the meal we enjoy the "candy bar" assortment of delicious chocolate desert treats. We all agreed that this was one of the finest meals we have ever had. If you are in Charleston, this restaurant is not to be missed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Special evening”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

A childhood friend and I had dinner here. I wanted to share this fabulous food with my friend who loves taking pictures of amazing presentations! They have interesting selections all with a twist. The wine offerings are great and many. The server was attentive but not in our face.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fit for a King”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great ambience, great service, great food! Compliments to the chef in preparing a super menu in the right proportions that exploded one's collective taste buds at every bite, and a wine list that complimented every course! Our waiter (I've forgotten his name but he always used mine.....shame on me) was great and knew the menu inside and out. The décor simply complimented the experience and the music was an even greater compliment. The ensemble did Stan Getz, Charlie Byrd, Paul Desmond, etal to perfection. This is a "don't miss" while in Charleston.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ANOUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing