We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Meal of our week long Trip to Charleston and Savannah” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Grill

Charleston Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Charleston Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Market Street
Description: The Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Paneled walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local folk art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Best Meal of our week long Trip to Charleston and Savannah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Beautiful restaurant with dark wood paneled walls and nice art work, very elegant. Very romantic, this was the best meal we had in both cities. I had the duo of trout appetizer it was to die for. The chef sent out a amuse-bouche for us after the appetizer always appreciated especially in an expensive restaurant. For my main course I had the fried catfish it did not disappoint. We ended the meal with a wonderful creme brulee.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,128
    148
    57
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mena. AR
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One of Charleston's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great, first rate service and food quality. Foi Gras out of this world. Great entries and desserts. The place is a first class experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Superb Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I dined here on a recent trip to Charleston and came away very impressed with both the food and service at Charleston Grill. We mixed courses from their Pure, Lush, Cosmopolitan and Southern menus. My wife had Fois Gras followed by Thai fish and I choose octopus salad and then rack of lamb. All of our courses were perfectly paired with by-the-glass wines recommended by our wait staff. We then split ginger cake and "candy bars" along with freshly brewed decaf coffee for dessert. An immensely enjoyable and memorable evening of food and wine with a soft jazz trio playing in the background. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE BEST DINING EXPERIENCE EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

I went there with my mother for Mother's Day a couple of years ago. This was by far the very best dining experience that I have ever had. The food was beyond amazing. The service was impeccable. The live music was beautifully done. There was a cellist and a violinist playing songs by Pink Floyd, Nirvana, and other rock band, and it was beautifully done. We wanted to stay for more drinks just to hear them play. It was worth every single penny. I couldn't have imagined a better dining experience than the one we had here. A definite MUST GO!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rmazing2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
554 reviews
442 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“The best meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was probably the finest restaurant we ate at. The atmosphere, service, food was top notch. Everyone loved there food, from the salads to the main course to desert. The wait staff was excellent and the food was cooked perfectly. This place is a must but bring plenty of money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bsk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing