We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply impeccable.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Grill

Charleston Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Charleston Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Market Street
Description: The Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Paneled walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local folk art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.
Greer, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply impeccable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Very swank eatery hidden inside Charleston Place Hotel. Awesome food, service and atmosphere. Somewhat limited menu and very pricey. Perfect for very special occasions. You can't go wrong if you're trying to impress.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TropiGal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,126
    148
    57
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
518 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“A stand-out in a city of stand-outs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Try to ignore the setting in the connector between a downtown Charleston hotel and shopping mall. Actually the hotel has an incredibly nicely done lobby, so check it out.

Once you are inside you will find the warmth of the wood, the live music and the staff. The service and the food were truly excellent, with a very friendly unpretentious attitude. The menu is quite uniques....divided into 4 food groups...but be adventurous and try things from each. The seafood was as fresh as it gets, trhe vegetables quite uniquely prepared (tried the cauliflower and collards), and the breads and sorbet were excellent. Extensive wine list with reasonably priced choices. Very attentive to food allergies, particularly gluten free...even brought gluten free bread. A bit pricey....but well worth it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A really wonderful experience....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Be prepared to spend some money. However, it's the best money you will ever spend for a meal!! Excellent service, atmosphere and attention to detail! We had crab cakes for appetizers. No fillers on this one. Just pure crab! Yum! My husband had the lobster for an entree and I had the salmon. Both were absolutely perfect. Wine pairings with appetizer and the main course. Amazing. Jazz band started playing as we ordered some dessert drinks. I had the coffee with Frangellica .... oh my! So good! We were also given some complimentary dessert snacks. Every single small morsel was amazing. We were celebrating an anniversary and we highly recommend this to anyone wanting a very special place for a special occasion. Looking forward to another visit!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MistyJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“One of the Best Meals…Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We've been here several times over the past few years and the dining experience is hard to beat. OK, first let's get this detail out of the way…it's expensive. Having said that, it will be one of your best dining experiences…ever.
The wait staff was on their game. Also, no "hi guys, what do you guys want to drink, etc", they address you by name; a thing of mine but it makes the evening just a bit more special and personable. Sean and the other members of the staff just knew their stuff. Also, management checked in a couple of times.
At first, the menu is a bit confusing, but Sean cleared that up quickly…basically order anything you want irregardless of where it is on the menu.
The octopus was seasoned perfectly and the crab cakes were chunks of crab with some binder and very flavorful…the best!
Both of us ordered the rabbit ragu and it was spectacular, very moist and tender.
We wanted things a bit quiet so we were seated in one of the back dining rooms. There was a small trio playing out in the main dining area.
It's hard to forget your dining experience at the Charleston Grill.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jebgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
89 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“An elegant venue for a special occasion.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were a group of 10 celebrating a 50th birthday. The Charleston Grill put together a special, six course, low country menu with wine starting with a few bottles of champagne and finished with a custom birthday cake. A lot of thought was put into the food and the wine pairings.
Upon arrival, each table setting had the menu printed with a personalized birthday wish - very classy. Soft, live jazz played in the background while our group was served some of the most delicious food we consumed during our five day stay and we ate at many fabulous Charleston restaurants.
The staff, service and ambience were exceptional. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy-to-BeToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing