We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & atmosphere”
Review of Charleston Grill

Charleston Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Charleston Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Market Street
Description: The Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Paneled walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local folk art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough about the wonderful meal we had here Easter weekend. Service was good and the food was out if this world. The live jazz band was great too. We even stayed for after dinner drinks!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,189
    152
    60
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Must for Foodies & Wine Lovers”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Charleston Grill may be our new favorite restaurant in Charleston. The food is excellent. I had the octopus salad & the grilled salmon. Both perfectly cooked. They made a sweet potato gnocchi dessert which was to die for. The wine list is top notch with nice vintage selection & reasonably priced for older vintages of high end wine. Josh, our server, was very attentive & knowledgeable about both the food & wine. They also took very good care of our children. We almost cancelled another reservation to go back for a second visit on our trip. We didn't but we will be going back on our next visit to Charleston. It's a bit pricey but Do Not Miss The Charleston Grill!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodak
Level Contributor
228 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The BEST!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I do not ever remember having better service or a better meal in my 55 years. Expensive, but worth it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ragerdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
183 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great food, service, table, jazz and conversation.....”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Many restaurants are so loud that the server must shout the menu specials, but not here. Our B&B owner suggested table #27 on March 27th. Just the spot for a great meal and to hear a quiet Brazillian jazz trio. Our server, Bryan, was training a young lady and he was doing a great job for us. We began with a single malt and a bottle of J. Lohr chardonnay. Excellent crab cakes preceeded my wife's flounder and my Asian-flavored seabass. Both were delicious entrees and left no room for dessert. This is one of the best restaurants on our road trip. We highly recommend it for a fine dining experience. I also recommend hiring a pedicab for a pleasant trip to and from the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent service, beautiful decor and amazing food”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Visiting from the UK, and had a wonderful meal here last night. Food was outstanding, our best meal here yet. Their oysters, crab cakes and flounder were all amazing. The waiting staff were attentive but not over powering . Classic, elegant decor with live jazz band made it a wonderful experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing