We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations were high - and were met.”
Review of Magnolias

Magnolias
Reserve with OpenTable
Magnolias is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: located between Cumberland & Queen Streets
Transit: Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Expectations were high - and were met.”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had heard a lot about Magnolias -- so when we vacationed recently in the Charleston area, it was on our list. It did not disappoint. Our service was excellent, the food was very, very tasty, well presented and fresh. We had many different items at the table - fried green tomatoes, a Po Boy, and the crab bisque among others. All terrific. Our waiter was very personable. The restaurant is very lovely, lively and a "not to be missed" in our opinion! Note: (the bar was directly behind our table - and a 10 minute ongoing cell phone call by a patron (at the top of his voice) was a distraction ... shame on him!)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allegra15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,721
    1,171
    384
    104
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not southern service I expected”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Was so looking forward to our meal here on a rainy afternoon away from the beach

The wait time was underestimated by about 15 minutes which can be tough with hungry teenagers.

The pimento cheese spread is still to die for. Absolutely must order this if you go.

The fried chicken entrees were generous portions and excellent - accompanied by fried corn, sautéed spinach and mashed potatoes/gravy. It was supposed to come with biscuits but they were out so it was served with cornbread which was burned (and 'supposedly' the reason for the delay in our order).

The fried green tomato sandwich is large and very tasty. The children's fettuccine Alfredo was disappointing.

Now on to why this was given a three - the service! Honestly some of the worst I've ever had. The waiter was incredibly in attentive to our table. Others around us received food before us although they sat much After us (see above). Our drinks were never asked to be refilled (usually in the south we are floating away in refills) and our appetizer plates were not cleared (even at end of meal). When approached with a peanut allergy, the waiter appeared annoyed and in fact I was nervous eating anything but what I specifically ordered as he never addressed the other dishes and never came back to the table for me to ask. In fact, when I tried to politely ' catch his eye' for our check, he stared strAight at me, waited a minute and walked to the next table chuckling. Honestly, I have never been so put off!!! Management needs to release one person can make or break a restaurant (or a review), and in this case it should be addressed.

Worth a try but I don't think we will be back because of the service sadly.

Helpful?
Thank southsidesusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Southern charm great food great location. Try the fried chicken and catfish. Great drinks too! Charlestons best

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhiladelphiaSbb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A worthy reputation!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had lunch here and it was excellent! The service was attentive, warm and very helpful in making our selections. I had the Fried Green Tomato BLT and my wife had the Crab Bisque and a side salad. Both were unique and delicious! And, we experienced a perfect example of Southern Hospitality. After we paid our check, it started to rain buckets and without umbrellas we had no place to go. The waitress suggested we have a cup of coffee, relax, and wait out the storm. 45 minutes and 3 cups later she told us the coffee was on the house and hoped we stayed dry for the rest of the afternoon. The restaurant was very busy so she was most gracious to accommodate us. You will NOT be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
224 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch - get here early”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Arrived for Sunday brunch at 2pm, unfortunately two of us ordered items which were already sold out. The food and service were excellent, just wish I had gotten here earlier.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolias also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Magnolias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing