We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food for the Soul”
Review of Magnolias

Magnolias
Reserve with OpenTable
Magnolias is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: located between Cumberland & Queen Streets
Transit: Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food for the Soul”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stop here for some amazing food! I will be sure to visit this restaurant anytime I come to Charleston.
My daughter and I split the seafood with grits and Fried green tomato BLT with pimento cheese. Enough food for both of us to share. The sweet tea is also very refreshing on a hot day. Be sure to visit and enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marlin95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,724
    1,172
    385
    104
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Always a favorite!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is our first stop in Charleston and have never been disappointed. Wonderful bread and butter to begin with and then wide variety from the menu. Always fresh and well prepared. Great service--just a good experience. You must try this great place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Murrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the must eat at places I go to every time I go to Charleston”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I have eaten at Magnolia's for years. It is the place I have to go to no matter what I am in Charleston for. They have a convenient parking lot between Magnolias and their other restaurant Blossoms. Both places are good but Magnolia's is by far the best. I enjoy best their steak with pimento cheese. I have tried about everything and have yet to leave without enjoying everything I have eaten. Well worth a try if you are going to Charleston

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbqmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If I Lived in Charleston, I Would Eat There Often”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a reservation and were promptly seated. The server was knowledgeable and efficient. The Pimiento Cheese with Charleston Flatbread was a delicious appetizer. I had Blackened Catfish with dirty rice, fried green tomatoes, habanero chutney and tomato butter. My wife had Parmesan Crusted Flounder with jasmine rice & creek shrimp pirloo, sweet corn, tomato, & asparagus salad, lump crab, citrus beurre blancand. The seafood was fresh and perfectly prepared. The only criticism I have is that the pecan pie for dessert was nothing outstanding. My only regret is that we live far away and can't dine their regularly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing as always!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

This place lives up to its good reputation. I have been many times over the last few years and have yet to have had a bad experience.

The food is excellent and the staff is so pleasant. This is also a great clean comfortable location.

Just a tip, don't miss the peach sweet tea cake. It is truly heaven on earth!

Helpful?
Thank Krista M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolias also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Magnolias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing