We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried Chicken is incredible”
Review of Magnolias

Magnolias
Reserve with OpenTable
Magnolias is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 926 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: located between Cumberland & Queen Streets
Transit: Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fried Chicken is incredible”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

I travel to Charleston regularly and this is a staple for our visits. True southern food in an upscale classy yet casual restaurant. Great cocktail menu and a very diverse menu.
The fried chicken is incredible as is the parmesan flounder. You wont be disappointed if you eat here..its great

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank OhioTravel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,821
    1,197
    395
    109
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, TX
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant and wonderful dinner”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Dinner at Magnolias was wonderful. The dining rooms are beautifully appointed and the service was fantastic. To the point where, if you are wearing black, they exchange the white napkin for a black one to avoid lint on your clothing. There were several specials the evening that we were there, in addition to the regular menu. Do not miss the seafood and grits, as it may be the best that you have ever had.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank grayhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Freedom, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fine, Not Great For Us”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were in Charleston for a few days and were looking for some great Southern food. Our concierge recommended Magnolias. When we arrived we were seated in the back room. The front area had much more personality and charm with a view out on to the street. Our room had a view of the kitchen.

Our waiter was less than enthusiastic. He was pleasant but seemed preoccupied. Long stretches of time passed between his visits to our table.

The food was good. The portions were generous. We've had better, and we've had worse. It felt like we were being ushered through as the tourists we were.

When I visit Charleston again, I might go back, but more than likely we'lllook for another option.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding service & delicious food”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I had the seafood on grits and it was fantastic. The service was absolutely wonderful. Very attentive and wanted to make sure we were happy and relaxed. I couldn't decide where to sit...the back room was a bit more formal where we sat and quieter so we enjoyed it there. The front was more active but still very cool décor. Be sure to make reservations.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ecogirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Everytime I have eaten here we have cleared our plates, not one crumb left. Been here a few times for Sunday brunch. No words to express our love for this place!

Helpful?
Thank Jewelz100210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolias also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Magnolias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing