We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner in on this trip, by far!”
Review of Magnolias

Magnolias
Reserve with OpenTable
Magnolias is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: located between Cumberland & Queen Streets
Transit: Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best dinner in on this trip, by far!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was the best dinner, by far, we had during this visit to Charleston. The food was perfectly prepared, full of flavor and delicious, and the service (by Billy) was exemplary! Would definitely want to come back again next time. Ask for Billy and you'll be well taken care of.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,724
    1,172
    385
    104
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
133 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Shared delicious app and dinner to permit savoring individual desserts”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Our wonderful server, Willy, greatly facilitated our dinner decisions, assuring us that a shared appetizer and main course would contain ample food and enable us to have room for our own dessert. He was correct and I'm certain we wouldn't have managed dessert (a critical part of our meal) if we hadn't followed his recommendation.

The excellent crab cake appetizer was followed by superb fried chicken. The latter was high on our dinner priority list compiled before we left Massachusetts. We could not have enjoyed it more.

My wife is a pecan pie devotee and was most pleased. I give very high grades to the bread pudding.

We made reservations about one month in advance and had to reconfirm 1-2 days before our arrival in Charleston. Seating was immediate at a most pleasant location.

Again, portions are large so judge accordingly, especially if you want room for dessert.

As noted initially,Willy, our server, was most helpful.

Looking forward to returning in the future.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tennismaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beyond outstanding!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We've been to Charleston numerous times but had never eaten here. Now we're sorry we missed it all those other trips. It was definitely worth the 45 minute wait. They took our phone number and we shopped the local shops until they called us. The atmosphere was cozy, the food served hot and promptly, our waiter was personable and added to the dining experience. We will go again next time we're in Charleston.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“"Delicious dinner and brunch"”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

On a recent trip to Charleston, my sister and I ate here for dinner one night and Sunday brunch. We had reservations and were seated right away for dinner. The best thing that we had to eat our entire trip was the first item we had at Magnolias, which was the fried green tomato appetizer. It was absolutely delicious and the perfect size for an appetizer. For dinner she had the buttermilk fried chicken, which was outstanding, and I had the shellfish and grits, which was very good as well. If I had to make any critique about my meal, it was that the pieces of lobster were kind of large and made it a little difficult to cut into smaller pieces to eat. Other than that minor detail, it was delicious. Because the portion sizes were so large, we did not have room for dessert.

We came back to Magnolias for Sunday brunch; once again we had reservations and were seated immediately. It is very busy for brunch, so I would recommend making reservations in advance to try the brunch that Magnolias is known for. We split the peach fritter poppers as a starter, and they did not disappoint. For the main course I had the crab cake special, and she had the banana pudding stuffed french toast. Both meals were delicious, but very rich and filling, and we were quite full for the rest of the day until dinner time.

The ambiance of the restaurant is very pleasant. It was a bit on the pricey side, but the portions were large, the food tasted good, and we will probably return on our next trip to Charleston.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Just average”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Horrible collared greens- my husband actually gagged on them. The fried chicken dinner we both had- the chicken pretty good,the mashed potatoes were barely warm and they put biscuits over the potatoes and then put globs of not very good gravy over it. We were disappointed in the whole meal. We were told to go here by 2 friends but would not go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anniezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolias also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Magnolias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing