We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant”
Review of Magnolias

Magnolias
Reserve with OpenTable
Magnolias is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: located between Cumberland & Queen Streets
Transit: Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had lunch here and it was so beautiful inside. Tablecloths, changed out our silverware between meals, Excellent wine and great service. We had shrimp & grits everywhere we ate this week and I loved these the best. We had the chicken livers appetizer and for anyone who likes them these are fabulous! The blue crab soup was great also. The prices were reasonable for lunch and dinner menu was somewhat higher. I can only imagine how wonderful dinner would be here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrannyCIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,769
    1,182
    389
    107
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on our trip”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We only had one brunch in charleston and decided on Magnolias. I stayed tried and true with cheese grits, ham steak and eggs over easy and my husband went spicy sausage with eggs and jalapeño grits. Everything was perfectly seasoned, perfectly cooked. The grits were amazing and satisfied my need for a stick to your ribs meal. We also had the special roasted beet soup and crab bisque. I loved the beet soup but wanted to package up the big and take it back to NY. Our waiter Ian was very nice and Made sure our anniversary brunch was perfect.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdb1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Great Place”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic place to eat. Right in the middle of the historic Charleston area. We met friends there and we all thought the food was outstanding. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about everything we asked. Then there was dessert. Oh my goodness, you have to leave room for dessert.

I posted pictures inside and outside. After dinner or lunch take a nice stroll up and down the streets in the area.

By the way, parking is not the easiest. We did have to drive around to find a place. Have change because you'll need it for the parking meters. We lucked out and parked across from a bank.

Helpful?
Thank bob3868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Loved this restaurant so much we went back the next day”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed everything about this restaurant so we went back the next day.
Food was great as was the wine selection.
Their desserts were even better.
Free parking in their lot next door.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnolia's for dinner”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The food here was really good. Our server was extremely knowledgable and helpful with the menu. One of the best meals that we had while in Charleston

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolias also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Magnolias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing