We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful last night in Charleston” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolias

Magnolias
Reserve with OpenTable
Magnolias is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American, Soups, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: located between Cumberland & Queen Streets
Transit: Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.
belvidere
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful last night in Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent our last dinner in Charleston at Magnolia's. We were really looking forward to it as we heard about its great reputation.
Well they did not let us down.
Starting with drinks in the bar, the entire experience was wonderful.
I requested seating the the gallery area (the back of the restaurant). The atmosphere there was quiet, sophisticated and romantic.
The food was wonderful. All four of us remarked that it was some of the best food we had on our trip to Savannah and Charleston. I had the flounder that is known to be a restaurant favorite. Delicious!!!
The wait staff was well-trained and professional. Overall a very memorable experience!!.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elaine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,491
    1,115
    362
    97
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adirondack Mountains
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brunch and dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stopped in on a whim on a beautiful Sunday and got right in for brunch. The Monte Cristo was big enough to split! We enjoyed our meal so much that we made dinner reservations for the next night. The dinner service was wonderful and so were the meals - fried chicken and pecan encrusted salmon. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LRMie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not that impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I had heard so many things about this restaurant so I booked a reservation ahead of time. The dining area was average - seemed cramped. We felt like the waiter rushed us - the food came warm but not as if it had just been cooked. I got beef tenderloin with fried oysters. The entire meal was extremely salty. I did not enjoy it. While I would say the food was just "average" it was not cheap and I felt pushed out so they could turn the table. Disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ssimon1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
1 review
“Better make a reservation or plan to wait !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went to Magnolias about 5:45 pm. Sad to say we didnt make a reservation. The hostess told us to go to the bar and she would come and get us when a table was available. After 45 minutes we went back and questioned how long it would be. They were actually booked until 9:30. Did she expect us to wait over 3 1/2 hours at the bar for an available table? This is not a way to treat your customers. Sorry, wont be going back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bon1243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best fried chicken ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

You wouldn't think an upscale restaurant like this would be recognized for its fried chicken
But Magnolia's is. My husband had the fried chicken here on a recent trip and said it was the best he ever had. They debone the chicken, then soak it for 18 hours in buttermilk, then batter and fry it. Delicious! I had the Parmesan crusted flounder and it was also quite good. The wait staff is very attentive, and were able to accommodate my allergy to pecans in the salad and dessert. We were here with a group of 30, but each person got individualized attention. I would definitely recommend a dinner here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bren n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolias also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Magnolias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing