We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolias

Magnolias
Reserve with OpenTable
Magnolias is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American, Soups, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: located between Cumberland & Queen Streets
Transit: Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.
Southern California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth a trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I sat at the bar because we didn't have the foresight to make reservations on a Saturday. The service at the bar was excellent. I had the blue crab soup and it was some of the best soup I've ever had. I had the pork belly for a main course and it was alright. It wasn't as tender as I have had elsewhere. The sweet potatoes it came with were amazing. I think overall this is a great place. The people I was with enjoyed their meals as well. I think if you get something other than the pork belly you will have an excellent experience here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Legally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,485
    1,113
    361
    97
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Maybe the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Magnolia's may not be the top rated restaurant in Charleston but we think it may be the best. The atmosphere is just beautiful with magnolia paintings and metal work. Views can be great (hint ask for front room at least and for special occasions by the window). The service is excellent and the mgmt really tries to accommodate your request. Ok so far sounds like all good restaurants but when you throw in the prices which we think are very reasonable and the specials, then it shines. Soft shell crab as appetizer then a bouillabaisse while spouse orders special of a glazed salmon. Then another night with 2 filets..... just all around worth the money.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank julywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Another great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Be sure to make reservations well in advance. The food here is excellent and as is the service. Food is well-prepared and always there are special touches. The atmosphere is pleasant and you are never rushed. Andrew is a great waiter. The attention to detail is obvious everywhere and the free parking is a bonus and add to the enjoyment of the evening.Highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WheretoNextNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We went here for our wedding anniversary. Great service, excellent food and amazing atmosphere. Thanks Magnolias!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HRgirl0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new YORK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful dining experience :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

My Husband and I had a wonderful dining experience, starting with a wonderful greeting from the hostess and I our awesome waiter name Willy, who is very knowledgable about the extensive wine list and wonderful food selection on the dining menu. We love the restaurant decor. I had the Boullibasse, chicken livers and for dessert the pecan pie with Carmel and bourbon sauce the best I have ever had!! The food and the presentation was wonderful!!! My husband had the shrimp and grits with sausage and aside of red rice and for dessert he had the banana cream cake and ice cream just awesome!! If you are in Charleston are planning a trip you must go here, it is a beautiful resturant in the center of historical part of town. You will enjoy and ask for Willy. PS they also have talent talented Bar Master who has a beautiful opera voice as well. Enjoy your time at Magnolias!!! We will return there this summer for sure :)

N menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolias also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Magnolias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing