We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hummus!”
Review of Magnolias

Magnolias
Reserve with OpenTable
Magnolias is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 926 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: located between Cumberland & Queen Streets
Transit: Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome Hummus!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Awesome Saturday lunch...the boiled peanut hummus was excellent, just wish there was more flatbread served with it as I am a light dipper. Cosmos are great and refreshing. For my entrée, I had the Shellfish over Grits. The grits were too creamy for my taste, but I find that to be theme for most of the downtown restaurants. However, all the seafood was fresh and cooked to my delight. My sister tried the Cornbread Crusted Trout, which she thought was quite good. For desert, we opted for the Pecan Pie. It was pretty good to say I'm not a fan of the iconic sweetness. The service was a little slow, but it was a holiday weekend so that's to be expected. Pointers: Reservations are a must! Request a window table, you won't regret it. I will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,813
    1,196
    395
    109
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food - a little heavy for us”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We ordered the tuna entree and the parmesan flounder. Both dishes were good but we weren't blown away by either. We were hoping the fish dishes would be a little lighter but the tuna (which, in fairness, was very flavorful) had a rather heavy cream-based sauce and the flounder (while tasty) is meant to be eaten with a huge bed of rice.

The best part of the dinner was probably the mussels (app). The ambiance is nice but a bit stuffy for us. Overall, a solid 4 rating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Palermo410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charleston southern charm but with a cool chic look”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went to Charleston for Easter 2013 weekend. Couldn't get reservations for most of the top restaurants ,very glad we did have one for here. Being from NY I am a bit of a NY food snob ,but this place did not disappoint. From appetizers to entrees all top notch. If you are in Charleston don't miss this place. They also own 2 other restaurants in town which are highly regarded also.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rtrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited several restaurants during our stay in Charleston, and this was one of our favorites. We had a lovely waitress, who was exceptionally helpful. Our pimento cheese appetizer was better than we expected, as were our entrees. Very flavorful, nicely presented, and we were a bit surprised at the generous portions for our entrees. We easily could have shared a plate. We did not opt for dessert, as we were simply too full! Everything here was top-notch, and we look forward to visiting again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank M19S99U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charleston Favorite”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We love this restaurant. The food has a different take than what might be expected, but everything we have tried is wonderful for its local slant. Some of the local themes might even put a diner off just a bit: succotash under crab cakes, steamed collard greens paired with beef steak, collard green egg roll. Take the leap into the dishes that might sound a bit odd, you will be rewarded deliciously.

Prices are fair, service is quite good. The crowded restaurant can be a bit noisy, ask for a table on the perimeter, not surrounded by other diners, if noise is a problem. The children in our family would not like this choice, I recommend for adults.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaIslandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolias also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Magnolias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing