We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnolias”
Review of Magnolias

Magnolias
Reserve with OpenTable
Magnolias is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American, Soups, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: located between Cumberland & Queen Streets
Transit: Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.
Folly Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magnolias”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The flavors of the south are prepared in the wonderful dishes prepared by the chef. The place has a Charleston feel and that you have stepped back in time. I recommend giving yourself a treat by visiting Magnolias

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,664
    1,163
    380
    103
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second tier”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Lovely brunch place. Feels like Charleston, and what can be better than that? The food is very good but not exceptional. Service is friendly and attentive. Great location for tourists and a parking lot, which is great for locals, like me! Definitely worth a visit but not if it's your only meal in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RLA1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Magnolias never disappoints”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful meal here last year, and on our return to Charleston this year, made a point to visit again. As a matter of fact, we made our decision on where to stay (Vendue Inn) based upon walking distance to this restaurant. For appetizers, we had crabcakes and scallops - both were delicious, but the scallops were amazing. I can still recall how much flavor was in that wonderful sauce. My husband had the Low Country Bouillbase, and loved it. I had the Ahi Tuna and it was very good. The roasted beet salad was nice too. They have a comprehensive wine list and lovely selection of desserts. If you are a foodie - you will love this place, it is consistently excellent and the service is exceptional.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stop here every time we visit Charleston. Great atmosphere, southern style appetizers and entrees. Nice wine selection

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINT LOUIS
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas dinner”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Wonderful setting for dinner the new room (to us)in back. Service was very good even though it was a busy time on Christmas evening. Excellant menu. The poached pear salad and Granny White apple salad were both So good. My husband thought the bread was overdone (burnt a little on the bottom.) His pork chop was done to perfection and my lamb was as well though it could have been trimmed of fat a little more. Dessert, yum. The absolutely the best pecan pie I have ever eaten and that is a lot! My husband enjoyed his cinnamon bun bread pudding as well. Next time in town we will be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolias also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Magnolias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing