We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What you would expect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slightly North of Broad

Slightly North of Broad
Reserve with OpenTable
Slightly North of Broad is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Faber Street
Description: Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What you would expect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We go to Charleston often, but this was the first time we dined at SNOB. I really like the layout of the restaurant. The tables are placed in such a way, that you do not feel that you have strangers at your table, and other conversations went unheard. The food was well prepared and well presented. I had the mustard BBQ tuna, and my wife had the flounder. Both were excellent. The soup and salad before dinner was also well done. We split a chocolate mousse cake served with vanilla ice cream. Again, very well done. I ordered a side of sautéed spinach that was not served with our entrees. It finally arrived, when I had about two bites of Tuna left. The wait person, returned it to the kitchen. This misstep did not mar our good experience. I was surprised to see many tourists have no reservations and are shocked that they can't be seated. I see this constantly at Charleston restaurants. This is not a huge restaurant, it is very popular, and reservations should be made.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilmington_NCTonyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,124
    692
    223
    61
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our meal. Soft shell crabs and salmon dishes. Excellent snob may be upscale but no snobs in that fine restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tennislover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fresh food, amazing cornbread!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We visited SNOB for our last lunch in Charleston. Our booking was for 11.45am, and the restaurant was already full. It is quirky and fun, with an open kitchen and some diner style seating, allowing some patrons to watch as their meal is being prepared. The cornbread here is off the scale amazing. I ordered a crab meat salad, and it is one of the best salads I have ever eaten. Crab meat in the middle, fresh vegetables on one side and fruit on the other. Never seen anything like it - no dressing, and it tasted amazing! My husband had a tuna melt with handmade potato chips, which was just as good. This restaurant does not hide behind sauces and trimmings, and boasts fresh, well thought out dishes, accompanied by great service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AngieNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
262 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I had an outstanding dinner at Slightly North of Broad! We were seated at the Chef's Table, a semicircular bar overlooking the kitchen, and it was a terrific spot to witness the professional camaraderie in the kitchen. It was obvious they really enjoyed what they were doing, and it showed up in the tasty food served. We had outstanding beet salad, pan-seared flounder, pan-seared duck, and apple pie. The service matched the outstanding food. We would not hesitate to return. This was a truly wonderful meal!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
766 reviews
447 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“No Surprise It Is So Highly Rated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were last here 15 years ago when we were last in Charleston. The food was still very good after all of these years. The shrimp and grits were loaded with shrimp, sausage and ham. Despite the great reviews I was still surprised on how good it was. The spoon bread side was unique and tasty but a bit pricey. The salmon was good though a bit over cooked which was disappointing. The spinach and mushroom side that came with the salmon was fantastic. This would have been a great meal in itself. The service was efficient though a bit stiff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fondue4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slightly North of Broad also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Slightly North of Broad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing