We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charleston Gem!”

Slightly North of Broad
Reserve with OpenTable
Slightly North of Broad is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Faber Street
Description: Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Charleston Gem!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Having read great reviews (on trip advisor) prior to our holiday in Charleston, I was keen to dine at SNOB. We thorougly enjoyed it! We made reservations early in the week (stopped by the restaurant during the day). The evening we dined, we were seated promptly upon our arrival. The restaurant was busy and lively, but not excessively loud; just a good, overall vibe! Our server, Allison, was excellent - friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable about the menu items! I enjoyed my dish of seared scallops in a broth that included incredibly tasty butter beans - yum! My partner enjoyed his barbecued tuna; very flavourful! We shared a side of grits (very tasty!), and a potato blend that included yellow and sweet potatoes, along with horseradish (had a great 'kick'!)
Neither of us had an appetizer or dessert, so the entire meal took a little more than an hour. However, at no point did we feel rushed; everything was done at a good pace.
It's no surprise that this restaurant has been such a long-standing Charleston favourite; great food, combined with excellent service!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cupcake_amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,212
    719
    235
    63
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for lunch”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is by far one of my favorite meals ever. I had the Pan Seared Flounder on Charleston rice and it was perfect! While SNOB dinner tends to be a little pricey, lunch was a perfect budget-friendly way to try this highly recommended restaurant. Lunch entrees were around $15 per person, really not bad. The attire ranges, but we came in after a walking tour and didn't feel out of place so don't let dress standards deter you. Overall very classy atmosphere and supremely tasty meal. Would love to visit again if/when we return to Charleston!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Riss R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Make reservations early, we barely got it after making a reservation one day in advance. The service was fantastic, and the food even better. The shrimp and grits are one of the best and the beef carpaccio is delicious. My friends had the BBQ Tuna and Hanger Steak, both enjoed the food immensely.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“THE BEST Shrimp and Grits!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have had my fair share of Shrimp and Grits, but THIS shrimp and grits was beyond delightful, the cornbread was also delicious! This is a wonderful restaurant for couples/groups, the ambiance is also wonderful. You will need to make reservations if you plan to have dinner. Thank you Stephani for the wonderful service you provided.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
305 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“lively and fun”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

things are jumping at S N O B (slightly north of broad). the atmosphere is fun, mixed, young and not so young, from jeans to well dressed but not overdressed (the native of charleston seem to have a tendancy to dress well.). it is not a stuffy place. it is not a t-shirt place with a hole in it either. just a nice middle. it is alive but not too loud. the bar tender was AMAZING!. and the food was quite good. i had a beet salad with ricotta. and gnocchi with celery root and green which were both delicious. the staff was friendly and fun.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lauremm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slightly North of Broad also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Slightly North of Broad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing