We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please, Be A SNOB”

Slightly North of Broad
Reserve with OpenTable
Slightly North of Broad is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Faber Street
Description: Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Please, Be A SNOB”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

To all other restaurants, you can be a SNOB if you want. Just make sure that its in a good way, like at this very unsnobby restaurant. My lovely wife and I had lunch here on a sunny Charleston afternoon. The food was exceptionally tasty and more than moderately priced. For example, my wife ordered the pate plate, which included two sizable pieces of pork and antelope country pate with pistachios and cranberry, spicy and grainy mustard and red pepper relish, a small salad, pickled vegetables including okra, and two pieces of toast with a creamy pimento cheese spread. I had the "express" lunch, including a sizable bowl of beef shank over mashed ruddabaga, with green beans in a red wine broth, a cup of delicious, velvety butternut squash soup and ice tea. Total cost of the meal - $23.00. In Philadelphia where I am from, that same meal at a nice bistro would cost twice that. The server was friendly and helpful, and even gave us the printed recipe for the red pepper relish after we expressed an interest in how it was made. The restaurant was packed on a Monday at 2:00PM. So whether you are a food snob or not, go to SNOB, but expect to be treated like family, in a good way.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljunkienow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,213
    719
    235
    63
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

If you are thinking about eating there, don't think just go. The food is phenomenal and the staff fantastic. Worth every penny spent and the experience is one to have. The food is over the top great. I would suggest making reservations but if you don't make sure you ask to sit at the chefs table. I loved it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sasparilla97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, average service”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Dined here on a Saturday evening. We had reservations, but still had to wait a little while, which is understandable. There is not a waiting area, so it was tough to wait and have everyone walking in and out. (It was really cold, so we did not want to wait outside). We had cocktails, appetizers, entrees, and desserts and they were all fabulous! What I did not like was the way out waitress treated us like children. (I am in my mid twenties). I'm not sure if she thought we wouldn't order anything, or if she thought we wouldn't tip well, but she was rude because she did not give us the time of day.

It is sad that one waitress can ruin the entire restaurant experience for my friends that were visiting my town.

Helpful?
Thank HeatherSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“well appportioned”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

With its welcoming urban sophisticated ambience SNOB attracts a clientele bent on enjoying an evening out. Food is well prepared and presented and has enough variations to keep SNOB from being predictable.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 4masei5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Enjoy • Enjoy • Enjoy”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Hard to find a bad meal in this delightful city but for virtually a guaranteed experience we choose to visit SNOB . . . or in its full name, Slightly North of Broad. Drop by at noon and you will certainly have to wait but if you can be there a little earlier or after the noon-time rush and lunch can be a very pleasant experience. Looking for dinner? Then I doubt you will be disappointed.
Great atmosphere, trained and knowledgeable staff and on-site managers who make sure everything runs like clockwork. On this visit we selected a couple of items we hadn't tried before and it was so good to have a server who could explain both the ingredients and how the dishes were prepared. Good food, well prepared and in an atmosphere that says true southern hospitality.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slightly North of Broad also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Slightly North of Broad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing