We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Celebrated our anniversary @ SNOB” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slightly North of Broad

Slightly North of Broad
Reserve with OpenTable
Slightly North of Broad is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Faber Street
Description: Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.
Stouffville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Celebrated our anniversary @ SNOB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent evening at SNOB. We had the joy our being sat at the Chef's Table overlooking the kitchen. We loved our appetizer nightly specials of my sweetbreads along my wife's squash blossom over couscous. (In fact I told our server that I would fly back to Charleston just to eat the squash blossom appetizer agin - it was that good!) For our main courses, we found my wife's BBQ Tuna along with my local Triggerfish to be absolutely delishous. The atmosphere an service were top notch! Overall a wonderfully memorable evening celebrating 18 years of marriage together. Thanks SNOB!
.

Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravel1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,124
    692
    223
    61
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NewJersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful night in Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I had been recommended this restaurant by a family member. Good call. My daughters and I had a wonderful dinner there. The food was fresh, was unique to the area. I had triggerfish with buttered beans - not going to find that in the north. My vegetarian daughter had a full plate of locally grown vegetables and grains. Everything was unique and pleasurable. The service impeccable and filled with southern hospitality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JKNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Bravo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We found SNOB to be a wonderful restaurant! The menu offerings are very creative, presentation is beautiful, and flavor DEVINE. The restaurant atmosphere is lovely, and casually elegant. Guest would feel equally comfortable here in jacket and tie or in jeans. Servers are knowledgeable and very attentive. I cant think of any way our dinning experience could have been improved upon. If we were locals we would dine here often.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank missmywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmot, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just In Time For Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wonderful place to eat while shopping but realize you will have a wait for lunch! The atmosphere is cheery and like a big family dinner with everyone having a wonderful time! It is low country cooking at its best! It is on my list of top restaurants in Charleston! Enjoy every minute!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We will remember this meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Every so often we are lucky enough to really be able to say that we will remember the meal for a long time. This was the case at Slightly North of Broad. The restaurant is really lovely inside - the space felt very cozy and intimate even though it has high ceilings and is a large space. We both started with the Bibb Salad - the pickled okra on it was delicious. For dinner my husband had the Trigger Fish special - apparently there are only two times each year that they are allowed to fish for Trigger Fish and we were lucky enough to be there when it was in season. It was delicious and the red rice underneath was amazing. I ordered the Shrimp and Grits - absolutely the best comfort food!!! I didn't want it to end. We both had dessert (another clue that we were loving the food). I had the Sour Cream Apple Pie - wow! it was so beautifully seasoned and baked - the apples were still crisp. My husband had a Corn Bread Pudding. He loved his dessert too - but, did think I won the dessert ordering round...This dinner was fabulous and if we are ever in the area again we will be back! p.s. the service was stellar too!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellebella_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slightly North of Broad also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Slightly North of Broad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing