We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere, good but not great food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sermet's Downtown

Sermet's Downtown
Ranked #173 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Louisville
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good but not great food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Beautiful restaurant with exposed brick walls and art. Had eggplant parmesan, which was good. Tomato soup was average, probably wouldn't order again. My husband had a butternut quash dish which was ok, but not great. Service was quite nice and pleasant. I would return and maybe try some different dishes on the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mollyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    110
    43
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
219 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We went to Sermet's downtown for an early supper prior to a concert. We were seated promptly and served immediately even though it was already about half full. Our dinners included the tile fish special and crab cakes which were tasty and filling. Wine was excellent and our server was attentive.

Our one reservation about Sermet's is that compared to many very good restaurants in the area, we felt it was more expensive than warranted.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wandotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“White table cloths in a sea of grits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Right in the middle of King Street, the main shopping street of Charleston, Sermet's offers a touch of elegance amid the many take-outs, fast food, and BBQ places. A great place for a light lunch or a full dinner. Creative dishes, based largely on local fish, with interesting salads and sides. Impeccable service and a good wine and beer list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobandOrnella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I were in Charleston for one night only. We were walking down King street to find a place for an early dinner and came across Sermet's or known as The Mezz (There is a Jazz Bar upstairs). I had the shrimp with couscous & my husband had shrimp with pasta, both delicious. The service was wonderful, the atmosphere great. When we come back we will definitely go upstairs listen to the Jazz.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CFTNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Week End....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great Week End in Charleston ,S.C. for a wedding. We stayed downtown at the Society House (very nice and central location) and ate twice at Sermet's which happened to be on the same block. Our dinner was excellent, the staff was "A-plus".....we also had drinks there several times as we shopped downtown and a delicious Sunday brunch. Friday night we took in the "Jazz Bar" up stairs....a great way to enjoy the true Charleston. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank harryfred143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sermet's Downtown also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sermet's Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing