We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location on King Street”

Nicks barbeque charleston
Ranked #162 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
kansas city
Level Contributor
131 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good location on King Street”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We are from Kansas City, so the barbeque needed to be up to our standards. The pulled pork was good, but not as good as they do it in Kansas City. Very cool building and cheese biscuits were delicious. I would recommend it as an affordable option on King Street which has come pricey restaurants.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kansaskristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    50
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value but ordinary ribs”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I ordered the full rack of ribs. This was enough for 3 people not the 2 of us. The ribs were very salty and we have had better in our travels. Service and atmosphere were good. gandkfromoz

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GandKfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old Charleston style, great smokey BBQ.”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I recently ate here for lunch while on a NKW trip (No Kids Wknd) for my birthday. We have dined at other Jim and Nick's restaurants, and had heard from the Charlotte manager about the uniqueness of this location, so we figured we would check it out. Great lunch setup, line and counter order system (non-standard for the chain) and decorated in true Charleston flare in line with the eclectic feel of the turn of the century building. Food was great. We got a order of the Kitchen Sink Nacho's (go small if only 2 people -not on the menu but just ask), I got the Pimento cheese burger (perfect juicy med-well topped with sharp pimento cheese, crispy lettuce, tomato, pickle, on a nicely brown baked in-restaurant bun) with a side of mustard base potato salad (i.e. yellow). My wife got a salad, generously portioned with a mix of greens (mostly iceberg), cherry tomatoes, smoked turkey, mix of shredded cheese, and dressing on the side.

While they weren't overly busy, they were extremely attentive to us. Fast on drink refills (never got below half) as well as clearing plates as we emptied them. Nice young college aged staff (it is in the "college town" area after all). Service was fast, a little too fast, as the app arrived mere moments before our main course.

Overall, awesome. Will return without a doubt.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CUrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good "fast food" bbq”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

stopped by here on one of the second sunday's on king street.
the food was decent enough, we each had a type of bbq sandwich and we each had a more than fair share of fat in the sandwich (not thrilled about that).
the staff was friendly. you order your food at the counter then take a seat, the food comes out pretty fast. it was reasonably priced for a quick bite to eat. probably would not make a big effort to go back as there are so many other places to try downtown.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kpit70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
179 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Upscale Fast Food”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

First time we had eaten here. Not sure if I'd go back. If I was a local maybe, but on vacation, I prefer to have a sit down dinner and be waited on. You have to order from the counter. The portions are enough for two people. The food was okay, but not outstanding.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clsmith335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicks barbeque charleston also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Nicks barbeque charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing