We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but crowded”
Review of Jestine's Kitchen

Jestine's Kitchen
Ranked #59 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food but crowded”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This restaurant has wonderful food but be prepared to wait in long lines. The dining room is very small and crowded, with little room between tables. We truly enjoyed our food but if the line is long, it is not worth the wait. There are many other great places to eat in Charleston.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtascp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,360
    697
    316
    91
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Dined at Jestine's on a recent Charleston trip. The food was very good. We all opted for the fried chicken and were delightfully surprised at the quantity of chicken served - a thigh, wing, and breast on each plate. The thigh and wing were the best, with the breast delicious but a bit dry. The macaroni and cheese and mashed potatoes were fantastic. Pecan pie wasn't anything to write home about, and banana pudding was good but a day old. The cobbler (peach and blueberry) was very good (ask for a scoop of ice cream). Wish we'd tried the Coca Cola cake like our waiter recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sgi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try the Coca Cola cake!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time eating at Jestines and it was as good as I had remembered it. We took our teenagers this time. Our server and the manager were both very friendly asking where we were from, turns out they were both from Kentucky too. We tried the corn fritter which was different than what we were used to but very good! We all got the fried chicken, it's A LOT of chicken!! All the sides are good. My daughter loved the cucumbers we were given when we first sat down. It's definitely a unique dining experience. The Coca Cola cake was wonderful though, my favorite part of the meal. It's not too big but we shared because we were so full from the meal.

Helpful?
Thank Vacationgal100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Charleston favorite”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time eating at Jestin's. We first tried it 2 years ago on the advice of our "southern" friends. We stopped here on a Saturday afternoon after walking through the Charleston Farmers Market. Surprisingly there was no line and we were seated immediately. Our waitress was prompt, polite and very attentive. We (party of 4) enjoyed our meal of sandwiches; shrimp and oyster po' boys and grilled cheese with tomatoe with sides of fried okra and cole slaw. No room for dessert but the desserts at other tables looked great. It's a nice, homey restaurant that serves very good southern comfort food at a reasonable price. We will return on our next trip to Charleston..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gail m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First stop in Charleston”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Was highly recommended for authentic home cooked southern food. The ambience, the service, and overall feel of this popular spot was so worth it. And the meal was all as advertised. Will return next time in Charleston

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jkevin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jestine's Kitchen also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Jestine's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing