We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait in Line_DvB”
Review of Jestine's Kitchen

Jestine's Kitchen
Ranked #58 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wait in Line_DvB”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Don’t cut the line. There seems to always be one, and it starts around the corner so don’t skip.
Fortunately the wait is short, as I experienced and was told by others.

The service is representative of our Southern heritage as our server/waitress was friendly and offered suggestions, but did not hustle like I experienced at only one restaurant on this visit. She wasn’t slow, just unhurried, so the drinks may have remained unfilled for a few minutes, and the order wasn’t taken for a few minutes, etc. Since I was on an untimed lunch break with several lovely people, the delays were part of the charm, but I can imagine visitors from other regions taking this the wrong way.

The food was delicious and portions generous. I had the fried catfish and took a sample of the fired chicken. Both were very good. For once I even had dessert, and it and the “good coffee” were both very tasty. If you are visiting for more than a few days, you should eat there for lunch and dinner at least once apiece. There are many other restaurants that are very good in this city, and many in this walking vicinity, but I think this restaurant embodies the city, culture, and serves a great experience as well as flavorful meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaiser_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,391
    711
    321
    95
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The bread pudding and pecan pie were excellent, as were the main course. The ribs were exceptional. The service was fast and pleasant

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home Style Cooking...that could be had at home.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Tiny little neighborhood restaurant that came highly recommended to us...We ate there for lunch. Be prepared to wait outside, but line moves fast. Very inexpensive, good food, but worth all the hype? They bring out complementary pickled cucumbers, which WERE very yummy. We got a basket of cornbread which was "Meh." I had a meatloaf platter, and I will say it was very good. Flavorful, and finished on a grill for a nice touch. Mashed potatoes were better than mine, which made me mad! Collard greens were OK--never had 'em before so I have nothing to compare them too. Hubby had grilled cheese sandwich--too much cheese for him (but he's weird about that.) Coleslaw was excellent. Service was prompt. Can't really complain about anything, but can't rave about it either.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious and unpretentious”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I loved the southern food, wonderful service, and casual atmosphere. My taxi driver told me this was his favorite, and i now see why.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank akmommela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Experience and Food”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Jestine's was a unique little restaurant with an interesting history. The waiters were helpful and friendly. Each member of our party tried a different selection so we could see a variety. The waiting line is somewhat confusing just don't stand at the corner of the building or you won't be seen when they have a table for you! Everyone enjoyed the food although I make better meatloaf!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jestine's Kitchen also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Jestine's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing