We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch venue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blossom

Blossom
Reserve with OpenTable
Blossom is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #62 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Located between Queen & Cumberland Streets
Description: Blossom, located on historic East Bay Street in downtown Charleston, S.C serves American cuisine highlighting the Lowcountry’s best seafood. Executive chef Adam Close and his team offer simple, clean dishes, featuring local, seasonal ingredients sourced from area fishermen and farmers, such as Jumbo Lump Crab Tostadas with corn relish, avocado mousse, and sweet chili sauce; Seared Scallops with bacon & fingerling potato ragout, garlic spinach, and brown butter vinaigrette; and pan roasted Mahi Mahi with rock shrimp, creamy rice pirloo, and tomato butter. Open for lunch on Monday through Saturday, dinner nightly, and Sunday brunch, Blossom also offers seating on its charming patio.
UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good lunch venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended by our hotel concierge and it was a good recommendation. The fish and seafood were particularly good: try the crab cakes and the catfish. The rosemary bread and their honey and clover butter were also scrumptious! Good service and a relaxed atmosphere. Try it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JackPudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    425
    148
    49
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Surprising find in the city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Lovely outdoor patio was divine in beautiful weather! We were just walking around the town and happened upon it! Such a surprising find! Food was fabulous, service was terrific and staff was professional and on top of things. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bequia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What a Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Fat, juicy oysters, cooked perfectly with a corn meal crust and served over a bed of baby spinach. Delightful. Aged blue cheese and walnuts were the perfect additions to this wonderful salad. My wife had a flounder sandwich that had more fish than she could eat, again perfectly prepared, and served with fries. The service was professional and prompt. Five stars for Blossom

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mangomon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Spent the day touring Charleston, nice to find a good restaurant for a fine dinner,
Excellent duck, my lady had the trout, also very good.
Nice room, good service and reasonable wine list.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“All Around Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

After a day of touring the plantation houses around Charleston, we were looking for a nice place for dinner. Family members had recommended the Blossom, and we we not disappointed. To start, we were comped our drinks because when we first arrived they were fixing a water leak. (Not that we ever saw any indication of that.) The restaurant is well furnished with a classical feel. Our server was pleasant and professional. The food tasted really good. My partner tried a sunflower sprout salad that was unusual and tasty. My beef spareribs were flavorful and so tender they fell off of the bone. We had intended this to be a special night out and it fulfilled our wishes entirely.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blossom also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Blossom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing