We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kickin' Chicken

Kickin' Chicken
Ranked #381 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: James Island
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stopped in here following an ice storm. Not much open so we decided to give it a try. We were impressed with the portion size and the boneless wings were very very good. We tried some sort of French fry that is pretty popular at this restaurant and were unimpressed with those but also tried the sweet potato fries and those were wonderful. The staff was really friendly and the service was quick. Its definitely worth a stop for wings!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank buckeyesarewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great chicken!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I gotta say, this is top notch bar food - at it's best. Nothing especially gourmet, but if you appreciate great wings, tenders, or burgers - this place is really fantastic and worth a visit. Fun, fast, friendly service and great locations.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Wings, Nachos, and Salad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I'm not really a salad person, but the Kickin' Chicken has a great salad. I ordered the Kicken Chicken salad which is a garden salad with chicken strips. It's kind of hard to go wrong with a salad, but the vegetation tasted fresh and the lettuce was crisp. The person I was with ordered the Kickin' Chicken Nachos which was also really good. It can be ordered with chicken or beef. She ordered chicken and it was stacked and extra cheesy. I had a side order of 6 Pterodactyl wings which were delicious. It had a sweet taste, sort of like honey BBQ with a great twist. We were there on a college football night so the atmosphere was amped! Wings, nachos, salad, and football a great combination.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teachinggems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Indiana
Level Contributor
190 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“It's Just Fried Chicken”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Swung in here for lunch one day, there wasn't much of a crowd, so no problem getting seated. They have a bar, as well as dining area, it is all one room. The bathrooms were clean, the service was better than most in the area, prompt and attentive. The food was decent, but it was just fried chicken strips and such. I had an order of nuggets with spicy teriyaki sauce and an order Bobby Fries, cheese ranch sauce (or something close), and bacon. I did like the fact that they brought the sauce out as a dipping sauce, it was very watery, but had a really good flavor, my fries were a little cold when they arrived at the table, but there were still edible and I was hungry. All in all not a bad quick meal reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3duckdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“big, tasty portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I went here for lunch, and was very pleased. Friendly bar staff, good beer selection. I have a healthy appetite, so I ordered the 5 tender plate. I like how they let you try other sauces with your selection, and especially how they offer a grilled option, instead of just fried. The portions were impressive. I should've gone with the 3 piece. Stopped at 4, and took one back to the room, with sauces. Good late night snack. Will return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kickin' Chicken also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Kickin' Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing