We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good meal!”

Bear E Patch Cafe West
Ranked #176 of 926 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Ridgeville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always a good meal!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Nothing fancy, but plenty of good food. Breakfast all day long is hard to resist, but then some of the other menu items are tempting too. And the desserts are fantastic.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 244maryellena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    22
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oahu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“*Comfort Food Cabana*”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Wonderful staff in a wholesome country diner with a good mix of traditional and trendy fare. No frills, except for the taste buds...and nothing like seeing good words of wisdom on the walls!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelSavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Incredible Breakfast and Southern Hospitality”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This place is the real deal - the genuine southern hospitality and food that you are looking for in Charleston. Extremely friendly service and great, distinctive southern diner-style food. They have a great regular menu, but also feature a number of very interesting specials. I had a cornbread-jalapeno egg sandwich and my wife had grouper and cheese grits. Both were incredible. Worth the 15 minute trip from downtown Charleston and right on the way to the plantations, if you are headed there.

We will definitely return for breakfast and probably try it for lunch sometime as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndreLePlume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthiana,Ky
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best breakfast for me”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed several days in Charleston and had breakfast every day. Some places were okay but all were way overpriced. On our way out of town on the way to visit Magnolia Plantation (absolutely beautiful grounds especially the spring azalea bloom), we ran across The Bear E Patch. Not expecting much, we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff and presented with a menu that actually made you want to make a choice instead of settling for "ho hum". Every one in our party ordered different items and all were extremely please with their choice and I was very pleased with the check. My only regret is that I can't easily return to sample more of their offering.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great find where the locals eat”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We found this place on our way to Drayton Hall. We were there for breakfast and the food was tasty with huge portions. Service was friendly, but we also noticed the wait staff also ran the register, so it got a little crazy periodically if several tables departed simultaneously.

They serve breakfast all day. Also would be a good place if you have kids.


Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BillyB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear E Patch Cafe West also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bear E Patch Cafe West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing