We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem!”
Review of S & S Cafeteria

S & S Cafeteria
Ranked #492 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Had never eaten at S&S Cafeterias. Food home-cooked, served up hot and tasty. The establishment is a little dated, but the food made up for it. The staff was excellent! Friendly, warm. Pretty nice experience!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RayUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Like a trip back in time”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This place is a must for southern cooking when I'm in town. The mac and cheese is awesome, lots of fresh veggies, many entrees to choose from, fried chicken is tops and do not miss the desserts, eat the custard pie there and take a piece of the coconut home!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank spazen34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“It's food like my mother used to make”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I went to S&S for the first time recently. I specifically went there because I hadn't had liver and onions for years, and read that S&S served it.

Got a "meat and 2 sides" for $6.99. The liver was how my mother used to make it: thin and quite well cooked. I had spinach and cheese and mac and cheese for sides. They came in those little bowls. I had my choice of a variety of salads and other options, each of which, carfeteria style, would have been extra.

There were quite a few other choices of main dishes. They even have a phone number you can call to find out what's on the menu for the day.

S&S is a place to go if it's time to eat and you don't want to spend a lot of money. Sort of the opposite of the "fit for foodie" category some review sites have. Not really great, not bad ... just there.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
2 reviews
“We love S and S Cafeteria in Columbia, SC. PLEASE DON'T CLOSE.”
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We have been customers of S and S for a long time. The food is good and reasonably priced. It's like being in a family kitchen. We know the waitresses by first name. It's a warm and friendly atmosphere. We are very distressed to learn that you are closing this one at Richland Mall in Columbia, SC. Please reconsider. Thank you

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Food, Fast!”
Reviewed October 31, 2008

On our way towards the airport we were looking for one last Southern Meal and happened upon this busy Cafeteria for Lunch. They had great quality food and large portions! It was definately a great find for us and I will recommend to others!

Helpful?
2 Thank Mariposa1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S & S Cafeteria also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Daniel Island, Charleston
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to S & S Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing