We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and good food”
Review of TBonz Gill & Grill

TBonz Gill & Grill
Ranked #235 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Our name says we're famous for tender, juicy steaks. But TBonz also serves a complete menu to whet any appetite. From fresh, local seafood to low country specialties, customers will savor the flavor in our casual atmosphere. All of our TBonz Gill & Grill steakhouse restaurants feature a family-friendly dining room. Our kidz menu for children 12 and under offers small portions of classic children's favorites.Our daily Happy Hour in the bar attracts locals and tourists alike. Enjoy one of our award-winning Homegrown Ales on tap that complement any meal. We highly recommend our signature appetizer Tommy's Texas Cheese Fries Deluxe.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good service and good food”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This restaurant was right around the corner from our hotel. We had a party of 9 on a Friday night --- the staff TBonz was so very accommodating. Only had to wait about 15 minutes --- they pushed some tables together for us right in front of their big windows facing the street. Our drinks and appetizers (trio of dips as well as fried pickles) were all very good. Being a vegetarian at a steakhouse, the waitress recommended the flash fried brussels sprouts. I must say I was hesitant but I took her advice and they were delicious!!! Actually googled them to find a recipe to recreate them at home. Thanks for the good service and helping our large group. Everyone enjoyed their evening and their meals!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Public Relations Manager at TBonz Gill & Grill, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Karen, thank you so much for choosing TBonz! We are so happy to hear that you and your group enjoyed your evening with us and that our staff took great care of you! Further, we are delighted that you enjoyed the Flash Fried Brussels Sprouts; being a steakhouse we want our vegetarian friends to feel accommodated. We hope that next time you and your group are in the area we have the pleasure of serving you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    36
    10
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston,
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I'll give newly opened restaurants 3 tries and established ones 2 but after going to this place once I won't be back. Atmosphere was bland, service not very good, menu unimaginative and the steak was cafeteria/buffet style at the best.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at TBonz Gill & Grill, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at TBonz Gill and Grill and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. At Tbonz, providing every guest we encounter with an exceptionally high level of service and hospitality, paired with equally impressive food and beverage, is always our goal. We serve only the highest quality Certified Angus Beef as well, in order to always offer our guest a tremendous steak, at a great value. It is clear from your comments, however, that we have severely failed to meet those goals in your recent experience. At TBonz, we do take the comments we receive from our guests very seriously and we will be reviewing your comments closely with our entire staff and culinary team, in order to learn from these mistakes, and improve future guest experiences. This recent experience is by no means a representation of our truly high standards and we appreciate you bringing these points to our attention. Thank you again for visiting us and taking the time to provide these comments. We hope to have the opportunity to see you again soon, in order to provide you with an experience that displays our true passion for service, hospitality, and food and beverage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We read the reviews and were disappointed with the service and the food. We had to ask several times for silverware and extra napkins. My husbands steak was cold and of our waiter was no where to be found when we wanted another drink or needed something. Was very disappointed and definitely will not go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at TBonz Gill & Grill, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at TBonz Gill and Grill and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. Providing every guest we encounter with an exceptionally high level of service and hospitality, paired with equally impressive food and beverage, is always our goal at TBonz. There is no excuse for the lack of attentive and detailed service that we clearly provided you in this recent visit, nor is there any excuse for the lack of care we displayed in the service of your husbands steak. You should never have to ask for silverware, nor should your food ever be cold. We do take the comments we receive from our guests very seriously and we will be reviewing your comments closely with our entire staff and culinary team, in order to learn from these mistakes, and improve future guest experiences. This recent experience is by no means a representation of our truly high standards and we appreciate you bringing these points to our attention. Thank you again for visiting us and taking the time to provide these comments. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food friendly staff”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on are way in to charleston the food was good the staff was friendly. The beer was very good they sell local draft beer brewed in mrytle beach I tried three different ones and all were tasty. My wife had the surf and turf and it met her standards. Lol

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redneckjedimojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at TBonz Gill & Grill, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We are very happy that you and your wife had such a great time. Please come again and thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun and convenient”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Market Street near Meeting Street is a top tourist intersection in Charleston. So many restaurants and other types of food offerings are present, including candy shops, ice cream and bars. We liked the looks of T-Bonz and knew it would be a quick and inexpensive lunch. The wait staff was very attentive and friendly, and the food was just as we wanted it. I must admit that the table was a bit sticky, and I'm not sure how you avoid this problem in a quick tourist eatery. But it did not lessen the fun or taste of the food. If you want a nice, friendly, tasty meal, and don't want to empty your wallet, this is a great choice.
My wife had a great flounder sandwich.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Artsy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at TBonz Gill & Grill, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for stopping by TBonz on Market Street. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TBonz Gill & Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to TBonz Gill & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing