We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the line soul food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bertha's Kitchen

Bertha's Kitchen
Ranked #190 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Television
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top of the line soul food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

A short easy drive from Charleston's historic district, Bertha's has amazing comfort food - and hands-down the best mac & cheese I've ever eaten. Fried chicken was fantastic, juicy on the inside with a wonderful crispy crust. Family of 5 adults ate lunch for about $35 - meat, two sides and cornbread plus sweet tea. So many sides on the menu we couldn't try them all - limas, red rice, green beans cooked with potatoes and ham - everything was superb. Don't miss this special place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BuckeyesGetAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    15
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME FOOD AT A GREAT PRICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The food was excellent, the baked and fried chicken, hands down is the best in town, the red rice is very very good, and the corn bread is the best i've ever tasted. I'm not a corn bread fan, but i can eat a whole pan of Bertha Kitchen's cornbread, its just that good. The service is great, Ms. Linda, Julie, and the rest of the staff make you feel right at home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chavious W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairburn, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This past Christmas my family came to Charleston, SC. We called three days before Christmas Eve, and they accommodated us by catering the entire dinner. The food was delicious and hot upon delivery. This family goes above and beyond to please new and frequent customers.

My family is back this week, and unfortunately Bertha's was closed for vacation. We will definitely come back and town and eat there again. We are hooked!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
467 reviews
394 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Real southern cooking and inexpensive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We visited for lunch on the recommendation of the concierge at our hotel. A short drive from downtown Charleston, this small place is a terrific find. It would be easy to drive by from the looks of it, but stop and you won't be disappointed. You order cafeteria style and then get a table. Fried chicken is outstanding, as are the collard greens and cornbread. Ribs were a special when we visited. You can also get sides of rice or various vegetables. Lunch for the 3 of us was only $21, and no one went away hungry.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sunday Cook'n All Week Long”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The review from Garden & Gun got me there the first time. I've been back since and it does not disappoint. I almost hate it's been "discovered" but am so happy for the family that operates this place. You can tell that they put their heart & soul into the food. It is always delicious.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank riprock123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bertha's Kitchen also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bertha's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing