We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Restaurant”
Review of 82 Queen

82 Queen
Ranked #52 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: King & Meeting
Description: Celebrating Lowcountry cuisine for 32 years. 82 Queen continues to reinvent the traditional South using fresh, local ingredients and modern takes on the classics. The seasonal menus feature authentic Lowcountry cuisine from award-winning she-crab soup to Lowcountry jambalaya and shrimp and grits, all served with gracious hospitality. Enjoy lunch, dinner, and weekend brunch in 19th-century dining rooms or in the brick courtyard underneath a breathtaking Southern magnolia tree. Southern Living and Wine Spectator awards confirm the restaurant as one of the finest dining establishments in the heart of downtown Charleston. Long live the Queen.
Fishers, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

What we loved most about 82 Queen was the outside dining area and the beautiful art work in the various rooms within. Our food was delicious but, we felt, quite pricy for the portion size.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at 82 Queen, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Ann,
Thank you for visiting 82 Queen and for taking the time to share your comments. We're glad you enjoyed the atmosphere, and we appreciate your feedback on the food. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,236
    596
    279
    126
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best she crab soup”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

In my opinion, the best she crab soup. The shrimp and grits were very good. Depending on the weather, the out door sitting is amazing. This is a cool place, with a laid back setting. The food and service were very good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at 82 Queen, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Randy,
Thanks for visiting 82 Queen and for taking the time to write a review! We're happy to hear how much you enjoyed our She Crab Soup, and are glad you also liked our Shrimp & Grits and Queen's Courtyard. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Almost worthy of five stars!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We went to 82 Queen on the recommendation of a co-worker who I very randomly ran into while visiting Charleston. She and her family go to Charleston every year and have been to many of the restaurants downtown. She told me that 82 Queen was, by far, her favorite.

We went to check out 82 Queen before we actually dined there as we were walking past and had a few minutes before we needed to be at our next destination. It is really very charming. The outside dining area makes you feel like you're eating in the garden of a friend. We ended up making a reservation for a night later in the week.

Because it was so hot, we had decided that we wanted to eat inside even though the outside area was so cute. Unfortunately, when we got there, even though we had a reservation, we were told that it would be a 25 minute wait if we wanted to eat inside. We decided to forgo the wait and eat outside. There were some fans outside and the sun was setting so we didn't think it would be so bad.

The heat was not bad at all. The only glaring problem was the FLIES. The flies didn't show up until our food came, so there was no luxuriating over our meal. There was no sitting and having another drink. We wanted to eat and get out! In one hand I held my fork and in the other I was swatting away the flies. It was really irritating. We spoke to our server about it and she said that it was a consistent complaint. She brought bug spray but we weren't about to spray that on our food! It was the food that the flies were really after. It kind of soured the experience because rather than enjoy the meal, we just had to eat fast.

If 82 Queen can solve the fly problem outside, they'll have 5 stars for sure! Eating inside is probably the way to go to if you want to enjoy your food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at 82 Queen, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing 82 Queen and for taking the time to share your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience overall, but we would like to apologize for the other inconveniences during your visit. We appreciate all of your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal and fantastic atmosphere...a must when in Charleston”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We went to this restaurant with friends who live in SC and have been going there for years..The entire experience was wonderful, from the history of the building and how the restaurant was established all the way to dessert. Awesome!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilumen8d1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at 82 Queen, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for dining with us at 82 Queen! We're pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your entire experience with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Charleston!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Pork chop on top of fried macaroni was unbelievable! My wife and I loved eating outdoors - great experience!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andyfreeman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at 82 Queen, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for joining us at 82 Queen! We're glad you enjoyed the pork chop meal and that you and your wife enjoyed dining in Queen's Courtyard. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 82 Queen also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to 82 Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing