We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“82 is a Queen.”
Review of 82 Queen

82 Queen
Ranked #54 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: King & Meeting
Description: Celebrating Lowcountry cuisine for 32 years. 82 Queen continues to reinvent the traditional South using fresh, local ingredients and modern takes on the classics. The seasonal menus feature authentic Lowcountry cuisine from award-winning she-crab soup to Lowcountry jambalaya and shrimp and grits, all served with gracious hospitality. Enjoy lunch, dinner, and weekend brunch in 19th-century dining rooms or in the brick courtyard underneath a breathtaking Southern magnolia tree. Southern Living and Wine Spectator awards confirm the restaurant as one of the finest dining establishments in the heart of downtown Charleston. Long live the Queen.
columbia, south carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“82 is a Queen.”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

82 Queen has been around a long time, which by itself says some good things about the place. Ate there last night after the Big NI at Husk, and it was good. The sausage board appetizer and fried oysters were very good, and the grilled tuna was very satisfying.

Service was good. Nothing knocks your socks off here, but it is a good reliable place in the Holy City by the Sea.

Had a very unusual drink of Angel's Envy rye whiskey which tasted of cinnamon. Very different but good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thornwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at 82 Queen, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for visiting us at 82 Queen and for taking the time to write a review! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the sausage board appetizer and fried oysters, as well as the grilled tuna. We hope to have the chance to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,220
    590
    278
    126
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Courtyard Seating”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We went here for a very light dinner. The crab cake, bread and she crab soup were terrific and our waitress was efficient and very friendly. Love this place every time we visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank truetexangurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at 82 Queen, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for choosing 82 Queen for dinner and for taking the time to share your feedback with our future guests! It's a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed the crab cake, bread and she crab soup. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor patio dining!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Don't miss this lovely Southern dining experience! Skip eating indoors this summer and enjoy your delicious meal sitting out in a lovely shaded patio. We had reservations at 7:00 pm on a very hot day but the patio was pleasant. We are from Colorado and the heat and humidity didn't bother us there as it is shaded as well as eating after 7:00. The shrimp and grits were wonderful as well as the pork chop. Top it off with limoncello cake!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rivendellCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at 82 Queen, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for visiting 82 Queen and for taking the time to write a review! We're glad that you enjoyed Queen's Courtyard, as well as the shrimp and grits and pork chop. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Myself and 4 other friends were at 82 Queen recently and were very disappointed. The service and atmosphere were great but the food was nothing special and quite bland, not something I expected from a low country restaurant with such great reviews. The first clue was the tomatoes in my salad. In the middle of the winter in the northeast, you would except the tomatoes to be tasteless, but in a warm climate such as South Carolina there is no excuse for not using fresh tomatoes, especially at their prices. For an appetizer I had the gumbo which was a special. It also did not taste fresh, more like it was made a few days earlier. I’ve had gumbo in Louisiana, and this was not even close. My main dish was catfish, it too was dry and tasteless. Most of my friends very equally dissatisfied with their meals. Maybe it was a bad night for the chef or maybe this place is slipping as others have suggested, but I can’t say I will going back anytime soon. As I have said, the service and atmosphere were excellent, I wish I could have said the same for the food. It was such a disappointment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank softail123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at 82 Queen, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for dining with us at 82 Queen and for taking the time to share your experience with us. While we’re pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the service and the atmosphere, we sincerely regret to hear about the dishes you and your guests were served. We apologize for the food and will be sure to share your comments with our culinary team. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful old house and restaurant”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We would recommend a reservation as it is a very popular place. The house itself if very interesting. The service was very good and the food excellent. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MerlinSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at 82 Queen, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for choosing 82 Queen and for sharing your experience! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed both the food and the service. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 82 Queen also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to 82 Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing