We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Southern Food”
Review of 82 Queen

82 Queen
Reserve with OpenTable
82 Queen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: King & Meeting
Description: Celebrating Lowcountry cuisine for 32 years. 82 Queen continues to reinvent the traditional South using fresh, local ingredients and modern takes on the classics. The seasonal menus feature authentic Lowcountry cuisine from award-winning she-crab soup to Lowcountry jambalaya and shrimp and grits, all served with gracious hospitality. Enjoy lunch, dinner, and weekend brunch in 19th-century dining rooms or in the brick courtyard underneath a breathtaking Southern magnolia tree. Southern Living and Wine Spectator awards confirm the restaurant as one of the finest dining establishments in the heart of downtown Charleston. Long live the Queen.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good Southern Food”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went on a long weekend to Charleston, SC and after speaking with our concierge about some places for lunch/snack, she had recommended 82 Queen. She stated that the She Crab soup was a must have.

The restaurant has a very nice atmosphere and we were greeted by a very nice hostess and seated in a dining area on the second floor. Our waiter, Eric was really good and very attentive. He made excellent recommendations for other items besides the She Crab soup...having the soup is forgone conclusion. :) We decided to have the mussels (fantastic), house-made sausages ( okay, but dry), Jambalaya (very good) and the soup (fantastic!).

Definitely a nice place to have lunch and/or drinks...they have a really nice outdoor area and the bar area has a fun vibe. Not sure about how the dinners are there, but certainly a place worth going to for snacks, drinks, lunch and munchies...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FinnGal321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,206
    588
    274
    126
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We were seated promptly but 3 giggling girls at hostess stand tells you that disorganization was on the horizon. Unfortunately it was, we were seated in a area that 12 others had just been seated in a inexperienced young servers section, it was just us two. When she finally came over poured tap water, no choice of sparkling, no specials etc....I ordered a bottle of red wine, and my fiancé a glass of Pinot Grigio...15 minutes later no server, no drinks...she was being kept busy at 7 top in rear, they running her everywhere, drinks wine etc...while ours sat in staging area...I finally got up other server looked behind him and there it sat in the window...her white warm was warm by then, no offer to get another glass, nothing...anyway he was a nice guy took our order...and he accommodated Dawn asking for the crab cakes being served with other sides , I ordered rib eye...when they made it there hers was very good...mine was a cold mess...rare rare...not even cooked enough to have any taste or form...when it returned she had finished her meal.....anyway just a mess here, don't bother to many consistently good restaurants close by... And by the way 180 bucks not close to be worth it.

Helpful?
Thank beltwayorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is another gem that we discovered several years ago that we keep coming back to. We always have dinner here and it has been consistently delicious every time. I get the she-crab soup which has won many awards and for good reason. It practically melts in your mouth. I used to get the fried chicken each time, but this year I decided to have the duckling. I'm so glad I did! It was sooo good!! It had a wonderful bing cherry sauce and was served with greens that were cooked to perfection and red rice. The flavors blended amazingly! They also have a great wine and cocktail selection. Additionally, the wait staff has always been super-friendly and helpful. This is a don't-miss restaurant!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CRSTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Waste your time”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The service is terrible and the food is not worth its expensive price tag. The place was under construction while we were eating instead of before or after business hours just a waste of time and energy

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Farrah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

82 Queen is in a great location to many downtown Charleston attractions. There is a parking garage across the street which is great when street parking is full. I had the BBQ shrimp and grits. I didn't like the presentation of the dish. The shrimp were on top of the grits and not mixed in. Also, my food wasn't very warm when it arrived. The waiter did a really good job describing the menu but seem to be working all over the place and didn't check on us as promptly as I would have liked.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Feltmaker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 82 Queen also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to 82 Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing