We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Food; Not for Everyone” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dixie Supply Bakery & Cafe - CLOSED

Dixie Supply Bakery & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Love the Food; Not for Everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We return to Dixie Supply Bakery & Cafe each time we are in Charleston. The food keeps drawing us back . . . especially the tomato pie. People line up to order and eat there. However, you will eat at small tables, either outside or in where many are in line ordering -- people are almost on top of you. But, if you like great creamy grits; crispy bacon; well-prepared food, this is a must. This is not only a breakfast place, the shrimp and grits, for example, are as good as it gets. Give it a try, but be prepared for the crowds and limited eating space. Although you can use a credit card to pay for orders over $10, they really prefer you to use cash. The sign says it's in order to keep prices as low as possible, which are already not cheap. Still, no food in that part of Charleston is really inexpensive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    176
    70
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Food is wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The food here was really good. I tried the Shrimp and grits and it was out of this world. The best shrimp and grits I have ever eaten. We had 3 different dishes and they were all wonderful. The place is small and there are not very many tables. They have take out and the few tables inside and outside. The services is minimal but the food is wonderful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway,sc
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food great,Staff rude,Run down ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We got there and there was no bathroom in there.We had to go next door to the gas station.The staff were not friendly!!The prices were outrageous.One shrimp BLT was $13 no drink or side!!The sandwich was divine,everything was fresh and the sandwich was ready in 5 minutes.If they got a new location and new staff,that place would be amazing.Still recommend trying it!

Helpful?
1 Thank hb004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good not great...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

I can't say that I really understand all of the glowing reviews. On the plus side the food tasted good, but I think $20 for 6 shrimp on a blt with fries and a sweet tea was nuts. The woman at the counter was indifferent at best, and the place was tiny, run down and dirty looking. Eating here proved to me that just because a place ends up on triple D, doesn't mean it's worth the trip. Keep looking... you can do better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank onlysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
458 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

While I had a good biscuit and gravy breakfast at Dixie, I found the restaurant way overrated. The woman at the counter was not very friendly and I found the place rather run down. I ate outside, which is basically in a parking lot with no interesting views and lots of street noise. I recommend going elsewhere for breakfast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trvladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie Supply Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing