We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delectable”
Review of Dixie Supply Bakery & Cafe - CLOSED

Dixie Supply Bakery & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delectable”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

While researching Restaurants to dine at while during my vacation in Charleston I stumbled upon the reviews for Dixie and how HAPPY I was that we chose to eat here for lunch.
We loved everything we got, it was fresh and delicious and full of flavor.
I highly recommend the Mouth Watering Fried Green Tomatoes and the AMAZING Dixie Burger, who knew pimento cheese, a fried green tomato and bacon would taste SO good on a Burger.
When I am in Charleston again I will for sure be going here. :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DolceMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    176
    70
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not Open”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We stopped there on Monday during their hours of operation and they were not open. So we did not get a chance to try it. I would call first.

Helpful?
Thank TCfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
109 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Average at Best”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Counter service only. Ordered their famous tomato pie, told them we were eating in and wanted 2 pieces of their boubon bacon pecan pie to go. Repeated this twice, of course our tomato pie came as a takeout order, we told them we would eat from the box, it was fairly cold and we asked if it was supposed to be hot or cold. Supposed to be hot, so they nuked it. 2 pieces of tomato pie, 2 coffees and 2 bourbon bacon pecan pie $35, seriously!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpigOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very tasty lunch”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for lunch on a day trip into Charleston. He had the shrimp Po'Boy. Ihahd the Wadmalaw shrimp, bacon and fried green tomato sandwich. Both were very good. The shrimp was fresh and nicely cooked (battered/fried on his, sauteed on mine). I had never had fried green tomato before, and this one was nicely cooked in a peppery cornmeal batter. Don't know if this is "traditional", but who cares. It was delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmasgat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
310 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“hole in the wall; delicious Southern cooking”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

A hidden non-descript jewel. Cash business. Small dumpy venue. Eating outside but almost in a parking lot The food was GREAT. We had every variety of their pancakes, cheesy grits, eggs. Everybody was happy and it didn't cost a fortune. casual dining at a casual price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MamaG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie Supply Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing