We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place- a must stop.”

Bowens Island Restaurant
Ranked #99 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fun place- a must stop.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by on our first full day in Charleston. Found Bowen Island a fun stop but stay with their Shrimp it was the best thing we ordered.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rnothlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    223
    81
    47
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
SC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Exspect to be surprised!!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I finally got to try this rustic off the beaten path resturant and was pleasantly surprised! We dined on a Thursday so the crowd wasn't what I had been told to exspect. The menu is a chalkboard with a half dozen options, you serve yourself and clean up after yourself. That was a little 'odd' but the seafood was PERFECT!!!! I love seafood and boy was I in for a treat. The shrimp and oysters were the BEST. The fish was OK but Whiting is just a bland fish by nature. I can't wait to go back!! Make sure you come hungry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank junkbox4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Prepare for Rustic”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I enjoy this kind of eating.....shared tables with strangers, buckets for your shells, food served on paper plates. If this isn't your kind of place, don't come here. Come for oysters? They give you a lunch tray and you walk down in the basement where the cook is sweating profusely over an open fire steaming the oysters. He works for tips only. You do not want to eat down here. Although they have some tables set up for the tre oyster-shuckers, I felt like I was in a very hot, dirty dungeon. I carefully balance my tray of oysters (why not a bucket to prevent spills?) back up a flight of stairs to rejoin my family to eat. The restaurant will be packed if it is the weekend. No one will help you find a clean table and service is slooooooow. Bowens Island has been around for many, many years and obviously lots of people like it because it has been packed every time I've been. Just know what you are getting into.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BKM512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT Food, Atmosphere and Service”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our second experience to dine at Bowens Island Restaurant. Every time we visit the area, we will put this on our to do list. The atmosphere is very casual and restaurant a bit rustic by today's standards. But absolutely THEE BEST seafood, friendliest service, fun restaurant, incredible views with sunset viewing capabilities that I know of. The secret is to get there about 4:45 to get in line for their 5 p.m. opening. They are almost always packed. The wait can be a tad long but well worth it. While waiting enjoy the vista, a local brew, or just simply sit back relax and visit.
The short drive, less than a mile, to the end of the island to get to Bowens Island Restaurant is totally awesome too. You will pass a few stunningly gorgeous island homes. Bowens Island is a very small island with one road in and out.
If I had the choice of a palace or Bowens Island Restaurant for dinner, I would take Bowens anyday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank onecent07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent seafood”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a fun place to go for great seafood. Get there early because the lines get a bit long. It is worth the wait for their fried oysters ar the seafood plate. It is kind of out in nowhere which makes it all the better. You don't want to be in a hurry but that is part of the experience. We take our grandkids there and they enjoy it too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowens Island Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bowens Island Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing