We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a try....”

Swamp Fox Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Swamp Fox Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Corner of King and Calhoun Street
Description: The Swamp Fox Restaurant and Bar, named for Revolutionary War hero, General Francis Marion, features classic Southern cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Executive Chef Simon Andrews and Executive Sous Chef Phill Gaulin create regional specialties that emphasize farm to table practices using locally grown fruits and vegetables with respect to the traditional beloved flavors and techniques of the Old South.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Give it a try....”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We tried Swamp Fox in the Frances Marion Hotel during restaurant week and had really a very pleasant meal. The only downside was the pecan pie. It was too salty to even try to eat. i was glad that I had ordered the Mixed Berry Torte for dessert, as it was creamy and delicious.
The Fried Green Tomatoes and the Ceasar were both wonderful, as were the shrimp and grits. Chunky with onions, ham and shrimp - just out of this world!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    203
    69
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were walking King St. looking for a place to have lunch ... saw this one in a hotel and was not sure about it first because of it being in the hotel. But we all enjoyed our meals and would gladly go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bless235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hotel Restaurant... that was very good!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Typically, I've found that hotel restaurants are average at best. And, usually, the only reason anyone goes to them is because it's convenient. The Swamp Fox sure surprised me! My meal was really good. The service lacked a little. The drinks in the bar and bartender were top notch. I would go back to Swamp Fox even if I wasn't staying at the Francis Marion Hotel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
380 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Good Place for a Drink”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had a lovely Sunday brunch and drink at the Swamp Fox-- there was hardly a wait, but the dining room was bustling and satisfying. Try their cocktails-- the Planter's Punch was a definite must, but the mimosas and bloody marys are sure to delight as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thetravelingjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
232 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
“Don't Let the Name Fool You ! ! !”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Delightful restaurant located street-side in the Francis Marion Hotel's ground level. Whether you are local and desiring wonderful food, or a tourist on your own or from one of the ships in port and want to sample Charleston Delicacies you can't go wrong here.

The She-Crab soup(A Charleston Specialty, Served at the Francis Marion since 1924. Lump crab meat, sherry) was fantastic.

If you have indulged in Crab-Cakes anywhere else in the world Please try these(CRAB CAKES – Carolina Red Rice, Asparagus, Lemon Caper Butter) . Yes, they are in a class of their own.

Also, devoured the ( MUSHROOM AND GOAT CHEESE TART – Cream Sherry, Parmesan, Grilled Asparagus and Vidalia Onion Salad) A full size entree.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dickd1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swamp Fox Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Swamp Fox Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing