We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service non existent”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Griffon

Griffon
Ranked #50 of 899 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
knoxville
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Service non existent”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

I do not know if we hit this place on an off day or what because our experience with service was not like all the other comments. We walked in and were greeted but that ended it. We waited and nothing, we walked to the bar, nothing. We sat at the table...still no waitress came. So we got up and left. Obviously we can not comment on the food but were not impressed at all by the lack of service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2explrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    198
    43
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, casual pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Food is very good, service is friendly and likable. Usually have lunch there with colleagues at least once a week.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quaint pub to stop in and grab lunch. Good beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Walking around downtown. Very close to waterfront park. Great AC and craft beer. The crab cake sandwich was alright and the fish n chips were good. Lunch and 4 beers $50 with tip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Went for drinks.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went for drinks and have a few apps. It was a fun place to check out in downtown Charleston with some friends. There's dollar bills hanging all over the interior which made for some interesting decor. Everything was good. Lots of good beer options. Go check it out for some drinks with friends.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JBerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falmouth, maine
Level Contributor
680 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“great atmosphere good beer selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stopped in here, frankly, to find a bathroom...got a local beer and enjoyed ourselves for 20 minutes; worth a stop base on decor and location.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chimayred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griffon also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Griffon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing