We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dining Excellence in Charleston”
Review of FIG

FIG
Ranked #16 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hasell
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dining Excellence in Charleston”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Mrs H and I had just checked in at the Renaissance and asked the Concierge where to go for a good meal at an upscale place. She said: "You can try FIG, but you'll be lucky to get a seat at the Bar." We walked the 2 blocks down Meeting St. The girl at the desk got us the last table, lucky! I had the Tomato Tarte Tatin to start. incredible! The Grouper entree was amazing, so was the Mascarpone Graham"Sammy" for dessert! Food Is Good is a must do destination in Charleston.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HammerNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,349
    276
    103
    43
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“All stars for these all stars”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

what an exceptional treat. We had less than 24 hours in rainy Charleston this summer evening and wanted a fine dining experience in walking distance of our hotel. Perfecto! FIG! Without a rez, we were welcomed warmly, our umbrella was checked and we enjoyed cocktails in a long bar area. The community table rescued us from a very long wait for a private table and what a great time we had with new acquaintances. The food....I wIll truly say this is the best restaurant meal we have ever experienced. Appetizers of chicken liver pate and heirloom tomato gazpacho and entrees of ricotta gnocchi with beef bolognese and grilled grouper. All and each absolutely amazing. Perfect in service, preparation and flavor. If FIG was not so far from home (TX) we would be there frequently. Definitely one to bookmark as a fav.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious, Fresh, Hospitable, Top Shelf”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was making a last minute reservation to dine at Fig. The time was not available but the hostess said she would take our number and call if there was a cancelation. Luckily we received a call back about an hour later telling us there was a table available. After the dining experience we had, I am soooo glad we received a call back!
Our waitress 'Kate' was spectacular and completely knowledgeable of every item on the menu from origin, prepared, to plate! This is no small feat, since Fig prides itself on using the freshest local items in all their dishes. I would not think this would make such a difference but, I stand corrected, the freshness comes out in every dish. We had two different seafood dishes, a pork dish and steak. All dishes and there sides were spectacular! It is truly a different dining experience! Thank you Kate, thank you Fig!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dgino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey
Level Contributor
176 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Winner!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had dinner at FIG on July 4. The tomato tarte was outstanding (appetizer). For the main course, the snapper and grouper were both very good. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoyaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“AMA”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Amazing food and service. Everything from drinks, apps, and entrees were perfect. Best meal we had in Charleston. Wonderful!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FIG also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to FIG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing