We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of My Best Meals Ever”
Review of FIG

FIG
Ranked #15 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hasell
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
482 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“One of My Best Meals Ever”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

There are rare moments when a meal is so good it leaves me giddy - FIG did just that. I ate at the bar since the tables were full and the bartender was fantastic. He knew the food extremely well and gave great advice on pairing drinks with my food items. I started with the razor clams which were fantastic - perfectly cooked with unique flavors. I then had the swordfish, which was perfectly done and the potatoes were phenomenal. I regret that I didn't make it back to FIG on this trip but will put it first on my list when I'm back in Charleston.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trvladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,361
    279
    103
    43
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was one of the best meals that we had in Charleston. We went late and didn't have a dinner reservation but we were able to wait for a seat at the bar. The gnocchi, oysters and flounder were excellent. The only thing we found lacking was the wine menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Center, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect on every level”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

From the warm greeting at the door to the attentive waitstaff, this is a restaurant that makes you feel like everyone wants you to have a wonderful meal. The bread is excellent. We loved the triggerfish and the soft shell crab special...but the standout was the nine vegetable salad. It was the essence of spring, with each vegetable cooked in a way to showcase its essence. Do not miss dessert, especially the sticky sorghum cake and the Meyer lemon pudding.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Licked our plates.”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Since moving to Charleston we had heard amazing things about FIG & after finally making reservations a few weeks in advance (to get an earlier than 10pm dining slot), we were able to feast on the amazing dishes that FIG prepares. No wonder all the earlier dining times book up in advance.

This is a place not to miss! We will dine at FIG again & again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Book early or go at lunch time”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We did not book until we were in Town however as we went luch time and there were just two of us, we got a table; great food, good ambiance, good service, what is not to like? Our favourite restaurant in Charleston, which is itself a town with a great reputation for good food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MootHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FIG also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to FIG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing