We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Is (SOOO) Good”
Review of FIG

FIG
Ranked #16 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hasell
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food Is (SOOO) Good”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Pros: local ingredients, interesting wine offerings, service, location, swordfish, tuna appetizer, ambiance, decor

Cons: so popular that unless you book early, you'll have late reservations (ours were at 9:30pm)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank allenej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,346
    276
    103
    43
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We ate at FIG last Saturday evening. Everything, from the appetizers to the service, was spot on. The entrees were impeccably done - we all wanted to lick our plates! We also really appreciated the atmosphere of the restaurant, which was comfortable and relaxed rather than formal, as restaurants of this caliber sometimes are.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeninasheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
349 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best Entrees Ever”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Memorable meal deserves all the excellent ratings . Starters, wine and Desserts were less spectacular. Very friendly and attentive service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vsm09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Can't beat this”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Takes some doing to get a reservation because of its popularity but once you do, you quickly see why. Excellent food, wine, service and ambiance. Easily one of the best in Charlotte. Loved everything about it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank budfoluse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbin, Kentucky
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best food I had in Charleston”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I did an impromptu weekend in Charleston (we were planning on one night in Asheville, but decided to just drive on over to Charleston and make the best of it) so we didn't have any reservations. We had heard fantastic things about FIG and thought it wouldn't hurt to pop in and see if we could possibly get in. Luckily the bar was not too full and after waiting about 15 minutes at the cocktail only bar we were able to be seated at the full service bar. While waiting he had a Make your own manhattan and I had the Yellow Bird. Both turned out very well. We had already had a few smaller meals before arriving and decided that we would probably just stick to appetizers. Once seated he ordered the chicken liver pate and suckling pig head cheese, and I the ricotta gnocchi and sea island grass-fed jersey bolognese. Oh my goodness the gnocchi was one of the most spectacular things I have ever eaten. Even as an appetizer it was pretty filling. I think I could eat this every day and never get tired of it. I absolutely plan to come back, next time I will try to save room for an entree.

Also worth mentioning, the service was fantastic. The bartender was extremely knowledgeable about everything on the menu, she also gave us some great suggestions of other restaurants and bars that were worth checking out while we were in town. She wasn't the slightest bit snoody and extremely hospitable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abfarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FIG also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to FIG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing